Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-24-2015, 06:12 AM   #61
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by 80gator View Post
Looks so good. I usually smoke a pork butt on the big green egg but I am going to try this one. Bought the beef last night and will be great weekend treat.
Any questions please ask!

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "2 nights"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 07:42 AM   #62
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Campster View Post
I have been burning pellets for well over 10 years. Started out with a Traeger, still own a small version I use strictly for camping. Currently have a Louisiana Grill for home use. In my opinion at one time when Traegers were being built in Oregon they were top notch. A few years back the original owners sold out and the new owners moved production to China. They are now electronically the dinosaurs of the pellet business. Their controller is outdated and hasn't changed much since its inception. All the newer pellet grills are now using PDI Controllers which are far more accurate then the digital controller Traeger uses. The PDI Controllers are able to hold the temperatures within a few degrees of the set temperatures while it is not uncommon for the Traeger controller to drift up or down by 30 to 40 degrees or more. Most other grills also can achieve temperatures of 500 degrees or more. With a Traeger you are lucky to reach anything close to 400 degrees. Most other pellet grills also have the ability to do direct flame grilling ( great for searing meats) the Traeger does not allow you to do this. The bottom line is they all burn pellets, the competition has just passed up Traeger and made more improvements to their line of pellet grills to make them stand out from the rest. The competition in the pellet grill industry is a good thing and gives a lot of cho