Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2016, 09:32 AM   #1

Newbie here...

Hello all, we purchased a 550 and the Rieco roof lift failed the first trip out. Front Driver's side won't lift. I can't find a work around and of course that ended our 1st campout before it even got going. Worked fine numerous times in the driveway.

I am wondering now about the dependability of the roof lift, if it can be retrofitted to manual, and if there are inherent design flaws. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks.
Downriver5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 03:41 PM   #2

Doesn't the 550 have a manual lift?
GuppyWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 01:15 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuppyWN View Post
Doesn't the 550 have a manual lift?
nope, and thanks to the good folks at Reico I was able to figure it out
Old 04-26-2016, 01:44 PM   #4

What's the solution? I don't want one of I either can't use it or can't get the roof up/down when I'm boondocking!
Old 04-26-2016, 02:35 PM   #5

There is a little switch that you can pull out and bend to make contact. There is no way humanly possible to manually lift the roof without taking the camper apart
Old 04-26-2016, 03:57 PM   #6

Downriver,

Google Rieco Titan Roof manual lift. There is a crude 12 page operator manual. One step, although clear as mud, talks about some sort of temporary drive shaft and a cordless drill.

That was a 2014 model instruction. The newer ones may be different.
Old 04-26-2016, 05:29 PM   #7

yeah there is a little flexible shaft thingy but there is no way to get to it at least on the driver front without taking the camper apart
Old 06-25-2016, 08:55 AM   #8

Same roof issue - same camper