Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2010, 09:26 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
04 forest river sunseaker no outlets working

When we plugged in rv the AC was running, but right as we plugged it in, the ac started to bog down and heard a small pop towards the front of the rv. After a few seconds everything stopped and all power outlets went down as if a breaker popped. We checked breakers but they all are fine. The lights are working, and the Fridge works on gas. Air, TV accessories and all outlets are NOT working. Generator runs but does not power anything up. While plugged into 120 also, nothing works. What did we blow? We looked at most of the fuses in the engine compartment and all seem fine. Could it be a relay? Has anyone experienced something like this, have any suggestions? The rv place is closed today .
__________________

__________________
vigilante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 09:35 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
There should be a GFI outlet somewhere, probably bathroom. Check if it is tripped. If you are using an adapter an plugged in to a regular house outlet, don't run the AC. Not enough current available!

NEVER plug the camper up with anything turned on in the camper, especially AC. Best way to do this is NEVER unplug camper with anything turned on. This causes a big arc in the plugs, and will burn them up in little time, not to mention make those us of mad who camp behind you and find a bad plug in the campground you just burned up when you left.
__________________

__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 09:42 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
The GFI plug is not tripped. Also seems strange that the generator is not powering anything up. I mis spoke the AC was not on as we plugged it in, sorry. We are at a house pior to going to camp ground and plugged to house. So , we turned the AC on AFTER plugging it in. It ran for a second then bogged down and everything went out. I can see that there isn't enough power avail from a house outlet, but what explains why nothing works anymore? All outlets are dead, microwave clock is not working, and even with generator nothing works. Any ideas?
__________________
vigilante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 09:57 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Sounds like the MAIN AC breaker in the Breaker panel for the camper part of your rig. Should have a rectangular cover and several breakers along with auto style fuse. When you find it, might try turning all breakers off and then back on, in case it's not obvious which one tripped.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 10:12 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
Posts: 635
Check the breaker panel INSIDE the house that you are plugged into. Sounds like you popped a breaker in the house panel.

...VTX-AL
__________________
VTX Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 10:47 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Not if the generator won't power anything either
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 12:56 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
We have checked all breakers a couple times, checked the fuses and all seem fine. The generator fires right up, and no power to any plugs or appliances. There are relays and fuses in the engine compartment, would any of those have anything to do with it? Is there a schematic online anywhere for the fuse box? We cant find the manual anywhere.

Is there any breaker or fuse in the generator compartment or some where between the breaker box inside and the generator? Don't want to take it to the shop to find out that its a stupid relay or a $5 piece I can just replace.
__________________
vigilante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 01:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
Vigilante, there is a relay that goes from the battery to the converter that has a small reset button, and it also serves as a junction block on my Flagstaff trailer. This relay was located under the tongue area in the front of the camper underside. The battery wires went to this block with a reset button on it, and then inside to the WFCO converter. My junction block became corroded (rust) three months after I got it new, and caused the same issues you are describing. However, having a motor home style rig as you are describing, it may not be the same as this. Good luck, Randy
__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 02:15 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Just another guess. Look in generator compartment. Is there some kind of transfer switch, fuse/breaker box in there maybe? Something has to disconnect the shore power and allow generator power, and vice/versa. Maybe someone with a a motor home and a generator will chime in here.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 02:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
NWJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 2,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by windrider View Post
Just another guess. Look in generator compartment. Is there some kind of transfer switch, fuse/breaker box in there maybe? Something has to disconnect the shore power and allow generator power, and vice/versa. Maybe someone with a a motor home and a generator will chime in here.
Don't know if you have an automatic transfer switch to switch the load from the shore cable to the generator or not. On many motorhomes you must manually plug in the shore cable to an outlet that is wired directly from the generator. In this case there will be a 30amp outlet in the same compartment with your shore cable. If not then you probably have an automatic transfer switch in the same compartment. These switches have been known to fail and could cause the problem you are experiencing.
__________________

__________________
"I can fix it, and if I can't fix it, I can fix it so no one can fix it!"
Ed & Wendy
2009 Georgetown 378TS | 1998 Jeep Wrangler | 1998 Skeeter ZX202C
Nights camped in 2009: 53 | Nights camped in 2010: 55
www.nwjeepn.com
NWJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.