Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 05:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Palm Coast,Fl
Posts: 43
50amp 30 amp

I have a Rockwood Ro (30 amp)
I have a spot reserved in the future that has 50 am pervice.

Can I plug into a 50 amp without any problem to my 30 amp trailer??

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
TT-2014 Coachmen 320bhds Freedom Express-50 Yr Anniversary edition
TV-2016 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins Diesel 4x4
2010 Road Glide Harley Davidson FLTRX
boudie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 05:20 PM   #2
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Yes just need to use an adapter cord. Your main breaker in the trailer electrical panel will protect it. Chances are there will be 30 amp service as well. Usually when there's 50 amp service the other receptacles are there for 30 and 20 amp service with the proper breakers.

http://rvbasics.com/techtips/50-to-30-amp-adapter.html

Here's a link with all the details.
__________________

__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 05:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Palm Coast,Fl
Posts: 43
Thank You!!!!
__________________
TT-2014 Coachmen 320bhds Freedom Express-50 Yr Anniversary edition
TV-2016 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins Diesel 4x4
2010 Road Glide Harley Davidson FLTRX
boudie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 201
Agree with cfsoistman 30amp main should protect trailer.
__________________
2010 wildcat 31ts
05 Ford F350 SD PS
camprat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
I had a KOA site reserved in Daytona, and when I arrived, it was a 50 amp only box. Luckily, the campground host had an adapter that he let me borrow, and all went well. I now have one for these situations, but I will say I haven't needed it anywhere else! Randy
__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:35 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
I carry a slew of adapters

The campground I use in Virginia only has 50 Amp at the spots. (Adapter)

I was in "overflow" at Kennedy KOA in Fla, and was plugged into a 20 amp outlet they used for their Christmas lights. (Adapter)

I had to "share" a connection with another camper in Utah (30 amp "Splitter")
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 08:26 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 238
usually in a site labeled 50 am there is also a 30 amp plug as well
__________________

2009 F150 SCREW4x4 Prodigy P3 and tow package Valley WDH and dual anti sway
2006 Party Barge 21 90 Merc Optimax
2011 RockWood 2702 SS arrived 11.10.2010
nights camped 2010 6
threegr8katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:10 AM   #8
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
The campground I use in Virginia only has 50 Amp at the spots. (Adapter)

I was in "overflow" at Kennedy KOA in Fla, and was plugged into a 20 amp outlet they used for their Christmas lights. (Adapter)

I had to "share" a connection with another camper in Utah (30 amp "Splitter")
I have just about every adapter just in case I need it. Haven't come across the need for the 30 amp splitter though. When I go to the York Fairgounds in pA for the TCA Train Meet they have boxes with [4] 30 amp circuits out of them. I have no clue the breaker they're tied into but the voltage is always near 130 volts. I guess they have problems if it's too close to 120?
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:47 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
i've only stayed in one that offered 50 or 20 in Kentucky. near where evens williams is bottled. the campground had an adapter to go to 30 (this was on my preveous trailer).
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.