Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-22-2009, 12:03 AM   #1

9 Day Break In Trip Report

We bought our 2009 Wildcat 30 Loft 5th wheel a few weeks ago and just got back from our first big trip. Learned a lot and solved some of the issues I noticed on our first couple of breakin trips. My hope is that what I learned may help someone else. Feel free to correct me on any of this, as I am new at this, but these are my first impressions.

1. TV not playing DVD from Concertone player. I found a single video cable outlet above the two sets of RCA jacks on the wall next to the TV. The single yellow RCA jack is the Video Out from Concertone to TV. The other two L/R Audio jacks I have not used as the Concertone directs sound to ABC speakers directly without going to TV.

2. Poor TV video quality. During our walkthrough the dealer said it was just because of poor over the air reception due to our location. I found after I hooked up to an RV Park cable outlet and going through each coax cable junction box/outlet that there was a loose connection in the bedroom junction box. On my unit, this junction box has coax outlet, 12v outlet and over air booster. Once removing the screws, the picture quality instantly was restored due to loose connection. Bottom line is to check this box first for any loose wires/connections.

3. Shower leaks into basement storage compartment. Called Forest River about whether the shower should be caulked between tub and shower surround. They said no. This was before I discovered the leak. So I have to make another call to them but my personal opinion is that every seam should be sealed in the shower stall. Stay tuned...

4. Wax the tops/sides of the slides outs and dust off tops before bringing them in to keep debris from damaging the seals and keep the inside of rig clean.