Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2011, 10:24 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
A/c question

Hello everyone i am new to the RV world and have learned alot so far.

Here is what i'm working with, i have a 2006 392 Salem TT.

The question i have is its a big trailer and it only has one A/C unit on it. It does ok at night when the sun goes down but during the day it struggles. Does anyone know if you can add a second unit? Any input would be great.

Thanks,
__________________

__________________
Kevin Allison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 10:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
sherdep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saint Cloud FL
Posts: 1,565
to add another A/C unit you would need to cut a hole in your roof and find a place to get electric to it - if you have a 30 amp service on the side of your camper you would most likely have to upgrade to 50 amp service cause the two A/C units would draw almost 25 to 30 amps without anything else running.

Does it feel like it is blowing cold or is it warm when the sun is out - could be low on Freon and freezing up
__________________

__________________
2011 Rockwood Mini Lite 2306 - Matt
2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Qaud Cab 4x4 with 35" tires and 3.92 gears, Dynatech Longtube Headers & Fabtech 6" lift + Superchips with shift Tuning
Nights Camped 2011 (37) - 2012 (16)-2013 (2) -2014 (5) -2015(0)
USMC 91 - 95 - F/A-18 Aviation Ordnance
sherdep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 10:38 AM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
As a 2006 it is almost 6 seasons old so it sounds like it needs service or replacement to me as well.

Maybe now is the time to upgrade (replace it) with a 15K unit. You would not need upgraded electrical service and it will eliminate the need for a second unit completely.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 10:45 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
sherdep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Saint Cloud FL
Posts: 1,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
As a 2006 it is almost 6 seasons old so it sounds like it needs service or replacement to me as well.

Maybe now is the time to upgrade (replace it) with a 15K unit. You would not need upgraded electrical service and it will eliminate the need for a second unit completely.
I like your idea Lou about replacing it with a 15K unit instead of cutting a hole in the roof which could possibly bring another place for a leak.

I know the 13K draws around 13 to 15 amps - how much more does a 15K draw?
__________________
2011 Rockwood Mini Lite 2306 - Matt
2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Qaud Cab 4x4 with 35" tires and 3.92 gears, Dynatech Longtube Headers & Fabtech 6" lift + Superchips with shift Tuning
Nights Camped 2011 (37) - 2012 (16)-2013 (2) -2014 (5) -2015(0)
USMC 91 - 95 - F/A-18 Aviation Ordnance
sherdep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 10:51 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherdep View Post
to add another A/C unit you would need to cut a hole in your roof and find a place to get electric to it - if you have a 30 amp service on the side of your camper you would most likely have to upgrade to 50 amp service cause the two A/C units would draw almost 25 to 30 amps without anything else running.

Does it feel like it is blowing cold or is it warm when the sun is out - could be low on Freon and freezing up

It has 50 amps running to the pole but not sure if the trailer has been upgraded.

It blows cold all the time. It does trip the breaker if you turn it down to low when it's hott outside. I may have breaker problems.
__________________
Kevin Allison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 10:52 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
As a 2006 it is almost 6 seasons old so it sounds like it needs service or replacement to me as well.

Maybe now is the time to upgrade (replace it) with a 15K unit. You would not need upgraded electrical service and it will eliminate the need for a second unit completely.

What do you think it has from the factory?
__________________
Kevin Allison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:02 AM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Allison View Post
What do you think it has from the factory?
Unless it was upgraded at time of purchase, the standard one is 13K BTU.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:04 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Unless it was upgraded at time of purchase, the standard one is 13K BTU.

Ok thanks. Do they make one bigger than the 15k and if so can a 30amp handle it.

I have a motto that i go by alot and that is "go big or go home".
__________________
Kevin Allison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:06 AM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherdep View Post
I like your idea Lou about replacing it with a 15K unit instead of cutting a hole in the roof which could possibly bring another place for a leak.

I know the 13K draws around 13 to 15 amps - how much more does a 15K draw?
http://www.coastdistribution.com/PDF...uct%20Page.pdf

about 16 amps including compressor load.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
Nothing bigger than a 15,000 btu unit; but it should fit the exact spot just the same as the 13,500 unit. Not a lot bigger, but a new unit should be a bit more efficient. Wiring should be an exact swap, also. Randy
__________________

__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.