Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2016, 06:59 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
AC popping fuse.

Bought a used 2009 Wildcat. Love the rig. Last year we were using the account and the fuse started popping. Let it 'cool' off and it would go any where from q5-60 minutes. Thought maybe it was just dirty power. Made sure everything else was off but still the same.
Previous owner separated main fuse to separate account on own 20amp circuit, not fuse.
Replaced it over winter ....just in case.

At a different campground this year and same thing happened.

Hoping it's not a unit replacement..
Any ideas??
Thanks in advance
Daren
__________________

__________________
darencasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 07:24 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Sounds like something in the a/c is drawing to many amps.
You'll need to have it tested.
When you say fuse you mean circuit breaker correct?


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 08:23 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
Correct, circuit breaker.
__________________
darencasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 09:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 3,416
Two things that need to be checked incoming power should be close to 120V and running amps on your AC unit. AS they get older they tend to draw more amps. an electrical motor can draw as much as 3 time the running amps on start up so if you unit is running at the max amps already it may pop the circuit breaker when it cycles.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 09:34 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Depending on the unit, heat and humidity it should be drawing around 12-14 amps after running for a few minutes.


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 09:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brother Les's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BoCoMo
Posts: 1,802
Do you have anything else 'plugged in' to your 110 outlets (example, fans or cooking skillets) and or do you have so many 12v systems going that your converter is 'charging' full blast?

Keep the rest of your 'electrical/12v' usage to a minimum for a while and see what happens.

We have been in campgrounds on very hot days and 'breakers' are popping in a lot of RVs and the main breaker to the Campground blow in one. Campground hosts came around and asked everyone to keep their power usage as low as possibly needed.
__________________
Brother Les

2013 Forest River Salem Hemisphere SBT312QBUD

2001 CrewCab F-250 7.3 PowerStroke Diesel
SuperChip, BTS transmission, 6.0 Trans Cooler
Brother Les is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 10:03 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 318
Things will get loose on a 6 year old unit. Check the simple stuff first: Wires and connections at ac unit, wires and connections at the fuse/breaker panel. If those are good an amp meter to check draw as others suggested would be my next move. Every now and then you get a weak or damaged breaker the trips under the designed rating.
__________________
2016 Wildwood 32BHDS
2004 F-250 CC 4X4 V10
Mars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 10:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 813
Is the breaker tripping on AC startup? Starting amps on a 13,5K BTU AC can be 30 amps or so. Invest in a AC/DC clip-on amp meter. The amp meter is the only real way to see what's going on.
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 11:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
northstar1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: in my new 29hfsxlr
Posts: 1,658
the start capacitor could be going bad causing the compressor to draw more amps at start up . they do make a quick start capacitor easy change out /add on
__________________
northstar1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 01:13 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 813
Yes, I added a hard start and a time delay.

https://youtu.be/NVkCjPh7Nd8
__________________

__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.