Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2011, 12:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
Add an inverter....or run with the Generator?

I'm just curious about others experience? I've been told it really depends on distance, how much fuel your willing to burn? Talked with a few who do run their generator...and others who say no way. The TV mounted above the driver and passange seats isn't visable while in motion on the 374ts, but it will keep the kids occupied with dvd's and games.


Have to add? Does anyone with Georgetown experience know the the pick up height on the generator fill? Rough estimate? Should I expect to fill the motor home at a 1/4 tank to be safe?
__________________

__________________
GrowingGoatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 06:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
n1joh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Hadley
Posts: 108
i how a georgetown 2009 373ds and i have been told when you go below 26 gallion in the tank the gen will not run.
__________________

__________________
n1joh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 07:52 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
I was told around a 1/4 tank. 26 gallons would put it around a third of a tank. I'm leaning toward installing an inverter this summer.
__________________
GrowingGoatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 02:23 AM   #4
Member
 
SoMoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 68
I was told 1/4 also. Most states do not allow the TV to be ON up front while in motion (wired up to the ebrake).

I went on to ebay and bought a 9" overhead 12VDC DVD screen that also happens to play games for 120. You can mount it above your nook and fold it away when your ready for the big screen.
__________________
SoMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 06:49 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
I'll only run the generator on shorter trips. I've already ordered the inverter and will install when we get back from Florida. The TV in our 374ts is right above the cockpit, (Peter Griffen laugh). It is possible to watch from the drivers seat, but too much of a strain. For the kids on the sofas though.....very good viewing. I spoken to many who run with the TV on. As far as the e-brake. You can buy a 30amp relay and bypass the e-brake. Or, put in a toggle at arms reach under the dash if you feel the need to show JL it doesn't work in motion...lol.
__________________
GrowingGoatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 01:00 PM   #6
Member
 
SoMoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 68
I wired a spst switch to my Pioneer's DVD/NAV e-break check wire. Had to run the toggle because It was smart enough to know that if the wire was permanently grounded to NOT activate the dvd.
I'll be looking for the relay in my GT also.... These coaches are not running TV's purpose built for RV use, any AC shut off relay is third party and should stick out like a sore thumb.
__________________

__________________
SoMoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.