Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2016, 03:52 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Learjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 194
I would not do that with out a transfer switch. If you forget and connect to shore power and back feed the generator you could cause a fire and damage your generator...and more. Do it right or don't do it.
__________________

__________________
-2017 Ram Cummins, Aisin DRW 3.73, 4x4
-2015 Wildcat 317RL
-B&W Companion , MorRyde pinbox
Learjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 04:47 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,363
I would just use an extension cord to the rear inlet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 07:26 PM   #13
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learjet View Post
I would not do that with out a transfer switch. If you forget and connect to shore power and back feed the generator you could cause a fire and damage your generator...and more. Do it right or don't do it.
Or, you could back feed the incoming AC line, causing injury or death to anyone working on the service.

If you install a backup generator in your house, YOU MUST, by code, install a transfer switch to prevent back feeding the incoming service. Too many lineman have been injured or killed by jury rigging a system with out a transfer switch.

Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 10:54 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Captain America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 155
Or, I can fabricate an interlock like on a house panel.... https://www.interlockkit.com/ InterLock Kits meet all NEC requirements for optional standby systems (Article 702)

I agree with you guys about powering panel via transfer switch, that is the way my house is set up with the generators. I was going to do the interlock device on my house panel when I was going to buy a 240 volt generator, but decided to buy smaller gens and just power 6 circuits.

Anyhow, I need to figure out what each circuit powers. I know GFI will power receptacles in bathroom, kitchen, and outside. AC prep is probably 2nd AC, and recept probably powers bedroom, BH, and refrigerator receptacles.

I'm leaving all options open.
__________________
2011 Wildcat 32QBT
2006 GMC 2500, Airsafe 20K hitch, Air Lift Loadlifter 5000 air bags with Air Lift WirelessONE compressor, EFI Live

Jack of all trades, Master on none
Captain America is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 12:01 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 218
How about running your wire from the generators in your truck to a 30 amp receptacle mounted in the compartment with your power cord. When travelling, plug your 50 amp cord with an adapter into the receptacle. When you want shore power, simply unplug and move the cord outside.
__________________

__________________
tkarper14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp, breaker, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.