Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-21-2010, 07:08 PM   #1
The Old Man

Adding an additional 110v receptacle

I have a 2010 Flagstaff 829RGSS and there is only a single 110v receptacle in the kitchen area which is located on the front of the base cabinet. This is very inconvenient for plugging in the coffee pot, toaster, etc.

I want to add an additional 110v receptacle near the back of the counter top near the side wall. There is plenty of room under the cabinet for me to simply extend power from the existing receptacle to a new box that I will install. I will be using a "floor mount" type housing so that the receptacle itself will be mounted to the underside of the counter top and will be covered with a stainless steel cover when not in use.

I'm not an electrician but do have a lot of wiring experience with regular house circuits. My question is whether or not this extension works just like a normal house circuit using 12/2 romex w/ground, or do I have to do something different like connecting the neutral and ground together as I've seen referred to in some other threads? Seems pretty straight-forward but was wondering if anyone has done a simple addition like this?
Willis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 07:18 PM   #2

Just like you would do it at home. I don't think I would put it in the surface of the counter top though as it seems like the possibility of a spill of liquid into it would be too easy.
Nights camped in 2009: 53 | Nights camped in 2010: 55
www.nwjeepn.com
NWJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 07:35 PM   #3
The Old Man