Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2008, 07:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Amplifier on your TV Antenna?

My Surveyor 303 bless her heart can only pickup 1-1/2 stations using the antenna. We have sat but can only run one tv off of it. So for the other tv's we use antenna. Can you use some type of amplifier to get more channels?
__________________

__________________
JAMES-JENNY-BABY GRAYSON
HDN OUT
2007 CHEVY 1500 TEXAS ADDN.
2008 SURVEYOR 303
surveyor254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 11:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 82
Dear Surveyor:

I would bet you could, Surveyor, as there are lots of those kinds of units sold for other antennas. But, there may be better options. You will need to research your antenna, though, and find out from the manufacturer if it is a passive or active antenna already. Our 05 Wildwood comes with a crank-up Winegard antenna that is simply fabulous. We have our unit parked way out in the deep woods, and get loads of channels, and lots of HD channels. Of course, we are using a Samsung 19" HD LCD TV, which probably has a great HD tuner built in to it. (See recent posting on this).

Another thing that may help is that there are separate antennas that you can install onto your 18" satellite dish (I know I bought one as a clearance item at Lowes a year ago) and it clips on the satellite dish and you can tie it in to the satellite coax switch, or run a separate coax cable to your regular TV input feed connector on the outside of your trailer.

Better than that, though, is this new unit from Phillips, which is HDTV compatible. It is the Phillips MANT910. Check it out here on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Philips-MANT94...6005387&sr=8-3

...note that you can mount this INDOORS or OUTDOORS. And, you get FREE HDTV channels if you have a compatible TV. It's also a snap to install, just hook it up with a coax cable.

We were shocked to pick up like 30 free HD channels out in the woods! But, the key to that is having one of those newer LCD TVs with a built-in HD tuner. Like the Samsung 17" or Samsung 19" model. Worth every penny we paid for it. Today, for example, we watched "Robots", the animated movie with Robin Williams, in HD. It was great fun.

Still, you can beat satelllite TV for the selection...

Last, but not least, there is a good website called antennaweb.org, which you can visit, and plug in a zip code and it will tell you, right to the street level, what HD channels you can pick up, once you have the right gear.

Happy channel surfing.
__________________

__________________
walk_the_walk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 03:48 PM   #3
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,716
Surveyor, your rig most likely has a wineguard antenna with built in amp.
I bet it is not working.
Do you have a little --tiny-- push button next to your antenna outlet??
When you push it in do you see a green LED???
If your amp is not turned on you will get zilch.
Sounds like you have a malfunction or operator error
__________________
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 04:40 PM   #4
The Jolly Mon
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ND...HELP!
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via Yahoo to NDJollyMon
...yea. Sometimes they get hooked up wrong...and don't bring in a signal.
__________________
Pete (Jolly Mon)

2018 Wildwood Grand Lodge 42 DLTS
-Seasonal Space, Northern MN.
-2017 Sylvan 8522 LZ LES/115 Merc/Sea Legs
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 07:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
The main TV is where the amp button and green light are; and also you MUST run a new channel search EVERY TIME you move your camper to a new location- even if only 5 miles from home!! Found that out this past weekend!!But as Walk the Walk stated- I also get 20 to 25 great HD channels- clear as a bell. I absolutely love the set up on the TV and antenna!! (We won't discuss the concertone) but otherwise GREAT!! Randy
__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 08:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
cat1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chelsea, Alabama
Posts: 323
We had the same trouble with our old camper.Come to find out the wires going to the Amp were crossed. I switched them around and it fixed the problem. Just a thought.
__________________
cat1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 11:28 PM   #7
The Jolly Mon
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ND...HELP!
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via Yahoo to NDJollyMon
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat1956 View Post
We had the same trouble with our old camper.Come to find out the wires going to the Amp were crossed. I switched them around and it fixed the problem. Just a thought.
exactly what I'm saying! Mine were crossed in my KEYSTONE. I simply dropped the amp outlet, and switched the coax around. Done deal, good reception.
__________________
Pete (Jolly Mon)

2018 Wildwood Grand Lodge 42 DLTS
-Seasonal Space, Northern MN.
-2017 Sylvan 8522 LZ LES/115 Merc/Sea Legs
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 11:51 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
The signal booster incorperated into the antenna is controlled by an on off switch located next to the cable connection. I have seen these fail for a number of reasons including cable shorting, not hooked up at all, and even a pinched cable wire in the ceiling where the antenna direction and lowering handle is located. This is something that should be checked by the manufacturers prior to being shipped.

Jim
__________________
Mork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 06:20 PM   #9
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,716
Surveyor254 has not replied.
I still want to know that he's turning it ON.
Don't overlook the basics!
__________________

__________________
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.