Old 10-22-2018, 08:04 PM   #1

Antifreeze coming out city connection after winterizing

2018 Cruise Lite 263 bhxl. Winterized unit yesterday by blowing lines with compressed air then running antifreeze through.

I noticed today evidence of where the pink antifreeze had came out the city water connection and puddled on the ground.

I looked under bunk where city connection enters trailer and there was a trail of pink on the wall under where the line comes in and a puddle of pink on the floor.

This is my first time winterizing myself and I'm confused as to why this happened. I probably would not have ever noticed had I not seen the bright pink so I'm not sure if this has been an ongoing issue with water.

I've done a little digging and all I can figure is a bad check valve at the city water connection, or the fitting is loose. I didn't want to take anything apart since it's all winterized now.

Any advice would be much appreciated, and will this continue to leak inside all winter? Can I leave it like this till spring?

Jmac1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 09:13 AM   #2

If you winterized using a line off the water pump, then one of the things that happens is the line from the city water connection to the pump will also "pressurize" with the water pump trying to force the antifreeze up that line. That water pressure is most likely what caused the leaking, absent any bad connections. What you should do after putting in the antifreeze, is take the screen off the city water hose connection inlet and press the little button. That will open the check valve and depressurize the line. It will also allow the antifreeze to make its way up the line.

One word of caution when you press the button. Do not stand in front of it, unless you like getting antifreeze all over you (BTDT).

Wileykid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 09:24 AM   #3
Site Team

It sounds like you have 2 problems...