Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2011, 12:27 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
i can give u a suggestion if ur wanting to pull another wire but i would give it a lot of thought before u actually follow my advice.

if u can find the other end from the antenna end. i would tape a new coax (with a 6" overlap) then pull it thru. tape the entire overlap and tape each side of the overlap (to keep it from hanging up if pulled from either direction).
when i built my house, i put a couduit under the slab and would pull two wires, use one and the other was to pull additional cables.

again, before u follow this, give it a lot of thought. i don't know how they routed the wire or what u can hang up on.

pulling a wire would be after i tracked down the connectors and found those to be good.

if it is in a slide out, there may be a connection below somewhere. u know they didn't come thru the top.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:38 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Big-Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newark, Maryland
Posts: 17
The TV is not in the slide out. I'm thinking that the color change is where the wire comes from the antenna and goes through the roof for just a short distance. I will get into it maybe this weekend if it doesn't rain. I will port if I find the problem.
__________________

__________________
Big-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
ok.
Sense my second tv is just under the ant (amp by tv1), i've thought abt switching my ant to the second tv wire and switching them at the amp. then switch tv2 to the old ant wire and see if tv one works ok off the amp. secondly see if tv 2 develops same intermittent problems.
if all worked, would leave it alone. if problem persisted as origional, i would suspect the ant or the amp.
all of that is way down the list.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:55 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
DAISY BOYKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SUNSHINE STATE
Posts: 1,623
Send a message via Skype™ to DAISY BOYKIN
Second tv connection ??

Do you have a second TV connection, maybe in the bedroom, in a outside storage compartment for viewing a TV outside. If you do, there is a TV splitter for the second TV. this may be your problem and the reason for two colors of antenna wire.
You may have to work through a ceiling light or speaker hole for the new coax.
__________________
Sid, Lois & HRH MISSY Terrible 2s SHIH TZU
2011 ROCKWOOD 8285 WS
2014 F-250 KING RANCH PS/SD/6R140/BFT
TST Truck System Technologies TM-507SE
DAYS CAMPED 2017 66 DAYS
DAISY BOYKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 02:12 PM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Ok, I just went out and checked.

In my camper (yours may differ):
The orange coax is the cable feed (middle) from the outside.
The Gray coax is the Roof feed (Looking from back - right connector).
The Dark Brown coax the Satellite feed from outside and goes to the top connector on the wall plate.
The Tan coax is the TV2 output (looking from back - left connector)
--- Mine goes to a splitter - one to the L/R and the other the Bedroom.
The front bottom coax is the TV1 output.
--- Not used in my camper for "neatness"
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 02:19 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Big-Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newark, Maryland
Posts: 17
Sounds good Lou, I will check this out tonight. Looking @ the attachment I think you may be on to something. Thanks for going to all the trouble of looking @ yours. This is a GREAT site for help from people like yourself.
__________________
Big-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 03:16 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Daleville, AL.
Posts: 82
I have a sandpiper fiver and accidentally found a splitter when I pulled my front, bedroom, roof vent down to install a XM radio antenna. It had a crack on the input side and when I pulled it out to get to it the input side broke off. May be similar since both are made by the same manufacturer.
__________________
2011 F350 Lariat Ultimate Dually 6.7 w/ B&W Companion
2014 Heritage Glen 356QBQ
2016 Explorer Platinum, 1998 Mustang
1SG(Ret) (1987) US Army Aviation

Days/Nights Camped 2016: 34
dogwood36322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:26 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
skeeterbait8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lee County, Virginia
Posts: 329
After reading about maybe the cable might be bad I had the hubby go up and we hooked a brand new coax and well...... that was a bust too. Still nothing. Looks like I will for sure be taking my Sat dish with me if I want to watch any TV.
__________________

Official member of the "Roo Kroo"!
2009 - 4, 2010 - 135
2011 - 95 and counting
skeeterbait8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 05:29 PM   #19
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big-Dog View Post
Sounds good Lou, I will check this out tonight. Looking @ the attachment I think you may be on to something. Thanks for going to all the trouble of looking @ yours. This is a GREAT site for help from people like yourself.
A thumbs up "Thank you" would be great. You would be my first!
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 06:51 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeeterbait8 View Post
After reading about maybe the cable might be bad I had the hubby go up and we hooked a brand new coax and well...... that was a bust too. Still nothing. Looks like I will for sure be taking my Sat dish with me if I want to watch any TV.
if u hooked the new cable to the input of the inside unit and got nothing, sounds like the ant or inside unit may be bad.
i've never been into one but i'm assuming that amplifier is in the ant and is powered via the coax. if that is the case, the unit inside and bat wing have to be connected to each other to work.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.