Old 08-26-2009, 01:27 AM   #1

Bearings and other maintenance

I'm new to the world of RV, having bought a 2009 Rockwood 8319SS last year.

I've read that I need to inspect the bearings, even on a new trailer. So far we've camped about 20 days or so in the trailer, and driven it about 2,000 kms (1200 miles).

So far there has only been a couple of cosmetic problems quickly fixed. But I do tend to fret easily.

I've never inspected or re-packed bearings on anything. Last time I've had a bearing in my hand would have been 50 years ago playing marbles with those lovely "Steelies".

Is there a step by step easy to follow, bearing inspection for dummies manual or Utube video out there?

How common is bearing failure?

Old 08-26-2009, 07:40 AM   #2
Head Rambler

You don't hear of it much so I'd venture to say there's not a lot of it. I have heard of a few cases of infant mortality but even that's rare. I use an infrared thermometer to check the temp of the hubs periodically and feel that its a good indicator if one is hotter than the rest. One side on our RV runs a little hotter than the other but per side, they are very close.

Annual Brake Inspection and Axle Re-Lube Thread This is a great thread on just how to remove, inspect, repack, adjust brakes and bearings, with pics too!

Old 08-26-2009, 09:12 AM   #3

Actually there's really good primers here: http://www.etrailer.com/tv-repack_tr..._bearings.aspx

My best advice is this:
1. Temperature. Touch your hubs after running for 50 miles and get a feel for how warm they get. Very hot hubs may mean you are running dry and need to grease up or theres a mechanical failure. Could also be heat generated from braking so you have to develop a "touch" or feel for this test.

2. Visual. the wrong grease, mechanical failure, or incorrect reassembly will allow grease to sling out of the hub and get the wheels greasy.