Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-07-2013, 03:03 PM   #1

Check those backing plate bolts!

I've been working on cars for 40 years. I can do brakes and wheel bearings in my sleep. I have never seen the bolts work free from the brake shoe backing plate until it happened on my '13 Roo. We pulled into camp the other night to a horrific squalling and scraping coming from somewhere on the TT. I found the right rear bearing hub so hot I couldn't touch it, so I'm thinking crap I've lost a bearing. Went ahead and got it parked in our spot and checked it out the next morning, and when I looked at the backside of the wheel found the backing plate was just flopping around, bolts and nuts all missing. A buddy and I jacked it up and pulled the bearings and drum, the bolts had fallen inside and had been rolling around inside the drum. Brake shoes were beat up, the plate had appeared to have rotated at least one revolution since the magnet wires were snapped. I could not reuse the bolts as they were supposed to be pressed into the backing plate which by now has the holes wallowed out, and besides were buggered up and missing the nuts. My only option was to pull the whole brake plate assembly off and remount the wheel and tow it home without brakes on that wheel. The TT is just one month out of warranty but the Dexter axle is within its 2 year warranty, so I will call them tomorrow and see what they say. The only way I can see this happening is if the nuts were not properly tightened at the factory.
indybp57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 03:34 PM   #2
DDC