Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-24-2019, 06:16 AM   #1

Cold Weather Transition

Hi,

I've been sitting for two months in Gulf Shores in 60-70 degree weather. It has been raining and exceedingly humid a great deal of the time, with rain predicted almost every day next week. And at the end of next week, I will be headed home to northern Illinois, where predicted single digit temperatures are awaiting.

I have the typical winterizing of the water systems pretty well under control for this sort of transition. No problem there.

But I am concerned that virtually every element of my fifth wheel's furniture, carpeting, woodwork, etc., is saturated with humidity right now, and that there may not be enough travel time for it to move to a lower humidity saturation level, and avoid micro scale freezing problems when it hits the sustained predicted very low temps next week.

Am I overthinking this? Or should I do what I can to slow down my travel and arrival time, to allow things to assume lower humidity content before subjecting the unit to such a low temperature extreme.

Just asking ...

Rich Phillips
richp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 07:08 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by richp View Post
Hi,

I've been sitting for two months in Gulf Shores in 60-70 degree weather. It has been raining and exceedingly humid a great deal of the time, with rain predicted almost every day next week. And at the end of next week, I will be headed home to northern Illinois, where predicted single digit temperatures are awaiting.

I have the typical winterizing of the water systems pretty well under control for this sort of transition. No problem there.