Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-07-2011, 09:15 AM   #1

Diesel engines and gauges

Here is a question for people towing with trucks with diesel engines. Has anyone installed after market gauges? Pyrometer, Boost or transmission temperature gauges. Has anyone actually saved their engine or tranny because they had these gauges installed?
Old 12-07-2011, 09:36 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Let me ask another question, how many do you know that have died because they didn't have gauges to warn them? Don't get me wrong, I'm a mechanic, and gauges are great, but the manufacturers don't put them in because in most instances the computer is doing the monitoring and will trip a light somewhere. Ford used to flash the OD (overdrive) light for tranny temp. Not sure on current models, as I am retired. If you have the money and wan to put them in, sure, go for it. I don't think it is needed, but it is your checkbook you are using.

One other note, diesel exhaust temp will be fine, unless you alter the computer program, and change the boost pressure. Then you might want the gauges.
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:49 AM   #3
Wanna Be Camper

Most of the info you want is available via the OBDII port, just get either a good reader or something like a Diablo tuner and you can use it as a monitor.

John & Deb
2011 F250 Lariat FX4 Crew Cab 6.2
2011 Flagstaff V-Lite 30WRLS
SaskCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:24 AM   #4
2007 WildCat 32QBBS

It would help if you let us know what truck your inquiring gauges for.