Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2017, 10:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
Dometic Thermostat

Camping in the cooler weather with lows in the20s and have been gone most of the day. Returned to find the camper inside temp at around 80. The furnace was running non stop. The inside temp is showing 32 degrees when the unit is on, but you turn the unit off and then hit inside temp and it shows it's 79 inside. The furnace is running non stop. Please help in resetting this and or possible problems and fixes. 2017 Sandpiper 372 with dual zone control
__________________

MFR560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 11:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 327
That's why I hate those damn digital thermostats! Just give me the old ones, I set it manually I'm good. I can turn mine up or down just fine by myself!!!
__________________

Mdaniels4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 04:16 PM   #3
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,023
Mine spazzes out sometimes... I am actually looking at youtube to see about using a home thermostat.
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 05:28 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Thurman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albany, GA.
Posts: 1,060
MFR560L: I believe your thermostat is powered by 12vDC. There could be two possible power sources for the t'stat: 1) It gets power from a 12vDC circuit from the fuse panel, not the circuit breakers. IF you can find a fuse labeled "thermostat" try pulling the fuse for 10 seconds to see if that will reset the t'stat. 2) Your 12vDC may come from your A/C unit which is 110vAC, in this case find the circuit breaker for the A/C and flip it to OFF for 10 seconds and see if this will reset the t'stat.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 09:35 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
Thanks for the help. It corrected itself after about 12 hours. I cut power to it and restarted it and no change. Went to bed with some space heaters got up next morning and still not working. An hour later it corrected itself. Wish I had a more clear cut answer on what corrected the problem, but cutting power and waiting didn't work. If this continues I will be looking for a different solution as well.
MFR560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 06:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Kirk S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by MFR560 View Post
Thanks for the help. It corrected itself after about 12 hours. I cut power to it and restarted it and no change. Went to bed with some space heaters got up next morning and still not working. An hour later it corrected itself. Wish I had a more clear cut answer on what corrected the problem, but cutting power and waiting didn't work. If this continues I will be looking for a different solution as well.
If it corrected itself I would suspect a loose connection someplace causing improper voltage.
__________________
Kirk
2017 Foretser 3051S
Kirk S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 09:39 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 13
My dometic thermostat would let the ac run full time. I insulated behind the thermostat and solved my problem.
__________________

67vtx1800 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.