Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-29-2011, 07:59 PM   #1

Emergency Trailer Brake cable-

Hey Forum...

First off.. a little appreciation to all those who have helped thousand of us kick start our RV adventures... Im a newbie and will gladly reciprocate with advice as my experience grows but until then, hanks in advance for your help.

So the question is in regards to the aircraft cable that runs from the front of the hitch to a simple plug switch near the front of the trailer that (I believe) helps to activate your brakes in an emergency separation. I noticed yesterday that my cable had sheared off somehow (I believe from dragging on the ground???)... YIKES!

Well I need to replace it and while I know where it connects to the little plastic plug / switch, Im not exactly sure where it connected in the front. I believe it was tied into a loop and connected / interwoven through one of the safety chains and then looped along with one of the safety chain clips that connect to the tow vehicle on either the left or right of the actual hitch.

Do I have this correct? Seems like a simple fix with AC cable and a couple of crimp clips...

Just want to do it right, since it's an important safety feature.

Thanks again for any responses...

Patrick
pmahoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 08:01 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

your correct ! i had mine looped through my chain hook .
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 08:07 PM   #3

I like this idea..

Fastway Trailer Products - Fastway Zip Breakaway Cable & Switch
Steve38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 08:15 PM   #4

Thanks Guys

Appreciate the advice....
Old 08-29-2011, 08:43 PM   #5