Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2011, 06:48 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
wfmdfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middleboro, MA
Posts: 302
First Time out and the front jacks wont work

Well we just arrived for our first trip in the new Flagstaff 8528RKWS. Backed in and went to disconnect from the TV and the front legs wont extend. I checked the fuse and it looks good. Is there any rest or safety that I am missing. I can use a hand crank but will need to remove one of the gas tanks to insert the crank. Any Ideas would be helpful. The dealer is already closed so we are unable to ask them. HELP--
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 8528RKWS
2015 Toyota Tundra
wfmdfm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 10:20 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,329
When you hooked up when you left...if you ran the landing gear all the way up to the stop, the fuse will probably be blown (don't ask me how I know). This is the in-line fuse between the the landing gear drive motor and the postive terminal on the battery. Even the fuse looks OK, replace it and try it out...I believe that it's a 30A fuse.

Good Luck,

Dave
__________________

__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 11:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canandaigua,New York (The heart of the Finger Lakes)
Posts: 487
Dave, now how do you know ???? Did you do this ???? lol
__________________
BigRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 11:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 855
Everybody has done it once. Personally I cost me a new landing gear motor. Never again. I fixed it so I don't have to worry about that mistake.
__________________
donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 11:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canandaigua,New York (The heart of the Finger Lakes)
Posts: 487
Wasnt meaning to offend Dave..............I for one cant talk. I just always laugh because it sounds like me when giving some advise. I always end with...Dont ask how I know!
__________________
BigRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 05:19 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Happened to me as well.

Behind the battery in my 5th wheel were 3 green 30 amp fuses.
Change all three with 30 amp auto-reset fuses from the car store (AutoZone or whatever).

The other two were for the main slides.

Initially I just changed the landing dear fuse, but after I had to remove the battery box a second time to change a slide fuse that popped when ice formed around the seal, I did them all.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 08:10 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
DAISY BOYKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SUNSHINE STATE
Posts: 1,623
Send a message via Skype™ to DAISY BOYKIN
Landing gear

I may be wrong, but if I remember right on my Rockwood in Jan 2011 PDI, I was told the circuit breaker was just behind the battery box. You had to push a reset button on the bottom.

Again, I may be wrong!
__________________
Sid, Lois & HRH MISSY Terrible 2s SHIH TZU
2011 ROCKWOOD 8285 WS
2014 F-250 KING RANCH PS/SD/6R140/BFT
TST Truck System Technologies TM-507SE
DAYS CAMPED 2017 66 DAYS
DAISY BOYKIN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 08:25 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wfmdfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Middleboro, MA
Posts: 302
Found

Thanks for the input. I found the 2 fuses to the right of the battery. One was blow. Now I need to pack a box of spare fuses. I will also mark the legs so I stop before reaching the end of travel. Seems like a cheep fix for them to add some type of stop rather than tax the motor and fuses.
Wally
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 8528RKWS
2015 Toyota Tundra
wfmdfm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 10:18 AM   #9
Arn
Arn
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 181
My jack had the same issue. I replaced the fuse with a self resetting circuit breaker. Now if I extend or retract too far, I just have to pause for a second while it resets & then I'm good to go. It's a lot cheaper in the long run than replacing fuses every trip & a lot easier than marking stop points!

Arn
__________________
Arn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 11:24 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 280
Same thing. A 20 amp fuse isn't big enough. Wayne
__________________

__________________
wayne anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.