Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2018, 02:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
bpa098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Westmoreland
Posts: 322
Furnace issue/thermostat change

Ok I've read a bunch here and other places. So correct me if I'm wrong. Due to some issues with my furnace (runs fine for a few hours then quits) I am going to try changing my thermostat to see if it helps.

So if I've read things right, changing the digital domestic thermostat to a basic home thermostat running on batteries should be easy and a stab at fixing my problem.

It's a 2015 palomino hybrid. Thermo runs furnace and a/c. If you need more details let me know. And yes it was to a dealer before and of course it ran fine while it was there. Once it stops working I turn off the thermostat, wait a bit and turn it back on. It will fire up (it will lite and blow hot air) then 5 minutes layer it dies (assuming gas is killed and fan blows a few more mins). Almost like a sensor says it's not lit or it's already up to temp. Once it dies it never fires back up.

Works fine when it's warmer out. But when it's cold and we want it, that's when it acts up. Each time we camp in colder weather we have full hook ups. But does the same on hook up or battery



Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20180523-150816.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	173056
__________________

bpa098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 02:31 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,043
Based on your description of your problem, I'd be looking more at the Furnace. Either control board or the flame sensor. It sounds like what you said, that it's not detecting that it's lit and shutting down. Those brains are all in the furnace.
__________________

__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 02:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bpa098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Westmoreland
Posts: 322
Problem is getting at the furnace without tearing out a cabinet built around it
bpa098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 02:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bpa098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Westmoreland
Posts: 322
Maybe changing the thermostat is a waste of time?
bpa098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 02:57 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,043
I'm not familiar with your unit, but I don't typically see the need to completely dismantle a cabinet. They usually expect these things need servicing so provide some kind of access panel. Maybe a couple of pictures of the unit might help narrow it down.
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 03:30 PM   #6
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 15,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpa098 View Post
Problem is getting at the furnace without tearing out a cabinet built around it
That's odd. Every RV I've ever seen, had access to the furnace, both inside and outside.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 04:06 PM   #7
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 5,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpa098 View Post
So if I've read things right, changing the digital domestic thermostat to a basic home thermostat running on batteries should be easy and a stab at fixing my problem.
The issue is that the thermostat that you show uses digital communications and it isn't an easy task to convert it to an analog unit. You not only have to replace the thermostat, but you have to replace the control box in the A/C and pull new wire from the T-stat to the control box.

If you really think the thermostat is the problem, I'd buy a really cheap thermostat and temporarily hook it up and see if it does the same thing.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 04:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan View Post
That's odd. Every RV I've ever seen, had access to the furnace, both inside and outside.
Mine is only on the inside through the cabinet. Outside only have the vent.
__________________
2002 27rk Wildcat 5er.
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 05:02 PM   #9
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 15,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
Mine is only on the inside through the cabinet. Outside only have the vent.
Can't you take the vent cover off?
I can on mine.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 05:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bpa098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Westmoreland
Posts: 322
I'll get pics when I get home. Maybe I can get at what I need to. I'll have to reach about the board and sensor
__________________

bpa098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.