Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2015, 06:09 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kernersville,
Posts: 7
GFI Issues

Blaming it on the wife! This morning she had two appliances plugged in at the same time and lost power in two outlets. GFI would not reset. I have replaced the GFI reset plug (located in the bathroom) - still no power to the two plug or GFI. Any ideas? They want me to bring the coach in but I am set up in a park in Florida thru March. Not easy to unhook and move and will do so only if I have no other options.
__________________

__________________
Amazon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 06:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sail2liv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 292
You did not give breaker status at panel....I guess it is correct position....??? In our unit if GFI trips all plugs on that circuit do not work....
__________________

__________________

2011 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 Gas 3.73
2013 Flagstaff 8524 RLWS
1978 Cape Dory Ketch
sail2liv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 06:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
OK, so you are saying she tripped the GFCI outlet in the bathroom, and it would not reset - correct?

With that trip, you lost two additional outlets down the circuit - correct?

So you replaced the GFCI outlet with a new one in the bathroom - correct?

Did you replace the GFCI by throwing off the breaker in the panel or disconnecting main shore power? If you did the former, I would say one of the other outlets protected by the GFCI got toasted. If the latter, make sure you push the breaker in the panel all the way off and then back on to reset it.
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 06:40 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,564
Too many things plugged in should not trip a GFI, but rather a breaker. Did you check the breaker?
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 12:39 PM   #5
New to Forest River
 
Roving Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oregon
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazon View Post
Blaming it on the wife! This morning she had two appliances plugged in at the same time and lost power in two outlets. GFI would not reset. I have replaced the GFI reset plug (located in the bathroom) - still no power to the two plug or GFI. Any ideas? They want me to bring the coach in but I am set up in a park in Florida thru March. Not easy to unhook and move and will do so only if I have no other options.

I had the same issue with my DW. She said she checked the breaker but you need to look closely to detect a tripped breaker. I showed her the tripped breaker. She pushed the breaker to the on position and tried unsuccessfully to restart the coffee pot. I showed her how to flip the lever to the off position and then turn it on again to reset.

I am fortunate that she is interested in learning about how things work in the TT. She can manage to do the hookup and unhook tasks. I just need to encourage her to drive and park the rig.


Grey Nomads, Ron and Sue
__________________
Grey Nomads:l Ron & Sue
Roving Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 04:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
King Yankee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: WEST LEBANON, NH
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to King Yankee Send a message via Yahoo to King Yankee
Flynn, my Lexington would throw the GIF when too much on a circuit. In theory your right but doesn't happen that way.
__________________
Bruce & Nancy Richardson

Lexington GTS 300 S/S
Chevy Avalanche
Jeep Wrangler
Honda Goldwing
King Yankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 05:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 75
did you check to see you did not mix the line side and the load side of the plug. line is the wires that bring the power, the load is the wires that go to the others plugs if you mix this up you will not be able to reset plug
__________________
bleurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 06:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 295
Too much load is my guess.. But to which breaker - the one in your unit or the shore power one? A GFI will only (should only) trip when it detects a leakage current of over 5 mA to ground, not during an overload condition...
If you replaced the receptacle, are you sure the "Line" and "Load" are connected properly? Did you verify your breakers are good? Only a visual or did you use a meter? Need some of these answered before we can assist from the couch..
__________________
Camped: 2017 (Days/Nights) - 30/25
2016 (Days/Nights) - 32/23, 2015 Nights - 29

TT: 2013 26' Revere TBQB
TV: 2014 GMC Sierra 1500 Z71 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 06:55 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
IlliniJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
I had that happen to me a few times just a couple of weeks ago, and each time, I had to reset the breaker.
__________________

__________________
Retired Army CW4 - "Waterborne"
2005 Chevy 2500 crew cab with Duramax/Allison
2014 Lacrosse 327RES

Days camped 2014 - 0, 2015 - 24
IlliniJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.