Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2008, 06:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ORANGEVALE CA
Posts: 11
Question Gfi outlet?

Dose anyone have problems pluging the shorcord into a gfi protected outlet? Mine will only stay on with the fridg being off and unpluged and the hot water heater unpluged.
Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
STEWARDORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 09:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Justin, Tx
Posts: 2,671
Are you refering to plugging your TT's shore power to a GFI outlet attached to your house? GFI outlets do wear out and minor changes in amperage draw can trip them.

Here's a link to a page that explains GFIs pretty well. Click
__________________

__________________
aintgotnun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 11:19 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 106
Sounds like you are talking about plugging your shore power line to a 15 or 20 amp GFCI outlet. That'll be fine running just the A/C. Start up any other Hi current draw appliance and you will exceed the trip point on the outlet.
__________________
turbopuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 12:28 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ORANGEVALE CA
Posts: 11
More on the gfi

Yes we are talking about the outlet on the house, the gfi was new and i've changed it anyway. Thanks for the link about gfi's i will do some reading.
__________________
STEWARDORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 02:07 PM   #5
Cyber Phrenologist
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,699
And make sure you are using a really heavy extension cord.

With my trailer, cord and outlet I can run the air conditioner, OR I can run everything else. Either, or. Not both. The air conditoner will shut itself off if I do. I'd rather be tripping the breaker in the house, frankly, than risk damage to the AC unit.
__________________
KU4OJ
Admin at www.openroadsradio.net, part of the Social Knowledge network.
"RVing and Amateur Radio served up on the same plate"
2008 (or is it 2009?) Rockwood 8280SS - 2007 F-150
Lot's of mostly Kenwood radios

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:58 PM   #6
Cardinal 04 31LE
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ridgely, MD
Posts: 83
Electric Supply

Or you can do like i did. Have your brother in-law wire up a 30 AMP receptcle in a weather proof box on your garage. That works best! However, thats assuming your brother in law is an electrician... But seriously, your best bet for long term electric supply is to have a 30 or 50 amp recepticle installed somewhere near your RV.

Just my thoughts..

B
__________________
Mr.B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Justin, Tx
Posts: 2,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.B View Post
your best bet for long term electric supply is to have a 30 or 50 amp recepticle installed somewhere near your RV.

Just my thoughts..

B
my thoughts as well

it also makes the RV a nice "In Law" quarters for the visitors

in laws on both sides absolutely LOVE staying in our rig when they come to visit. both are RV'rs as we are so they like RVs to begin with but it also gives them their own space
__________________
aintgotnun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 05:56 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ORANGEVALE CA
Posts: 11
Red face Gfi reply

Thanks guys we did change the outlet to a regular one without the gfi everything works just fine. As far as inlaws go i don't know about them staying with me, but if they have to the trailer would be better than in my house!
__________________
STEWARDORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 07:47 PM   #9
Knower of Some Things
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Muskegon
Posts: 177
Experience has taught me that GFI circuits just plain don't like trailers. Why? I'm not sure. An electrician might be able to better explain it. My theory is that it has something to do with the ground and neutral wires connecting to the same place in the RV's electrical system. Did I mention I'm not an electrician?
__________________
PumaPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 09:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,260
I plug my camper into a GFI at the house, but I use a 12 gauge extension cord, no problem with it. When we plan a camping trip I turn tha fridge on two day before we leave and still have no problem. Like Radio suggested you need a heavy duty extension cord or a full 30 amp hook up. I hope that the receptacle that you change from a GFI to a standard receptacle Is located on the Inside and out of the weather!
__________________

__________________
rockwood06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.