Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 10:45 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
How do I get my TV to play sound through the speakers

I have a 2010 sp293. It has the concertone system. I was wondering it the tv sound will play through the roof speakers and if it will how do I turn it on? I have sound to all the speakers with the radio I just can't get sound to play through them with the TV. When I turn the TV on it just plays through the speakers on the TV. Am I doing something wrong or does the sound not play through these speakers or is something hooked up wrong. I don't know so I am hoping someone can help me with this one. Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
blake2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 10:55 AM   #2
Proud Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 93
My 291 has an aux input to the Concertone, but it is not hooked up to anything. I presently have all the parts ready to add a wall plate in the cabinet that will allow us to run an RCA audio cable from the TV to the Concertone so we would have the option to play the TV or an MP3 player through the coach speakers. Stay tuned for a post next week with details of the mod.
__________________

__________________
Jim P.
2008 Surveyor SV-291
2003 Ford 4x4 Expedition
Reese SC WD System 800/10,000 lbs
1976 Cessna 177RG
Wife, son, twin daughters, and mother

red.jimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake2727 View Post
I have a 2010 sp293. It has the concertone system. I was wondering it the tv sound will play through the roof speakers and if it will how do I turn it on? I have sound to all the speakers with the radio I just can't get sound to play through them with the TV. When I turn the TV on it just plays through the speakers on the TV. Am I doing something wrong or does the sound not play through these speakers or is something hooked up wrong. I don't know so I am hoping someone can help me with this one. Thanks in advance.
I just did this with my Concertone ZX75. The DVD comes through the Speakers, but not the TV Surround. However the back of the Concertone has the RCA inputs, and I took out the phone jack plate and replaced it with the New RCA Jack Plate.

You can see the pics here in a post I did on another forum of our new camper. Good luck...

RV.Net Open Roads Forum: PICS: This is our 2010 Rockwood Ultralite; let's go camping
__________________
4WallCamping DW, 3 DS, 2 DD, 2DD-in-laws, 1 DS-in-law and 6 DGKids

2010 Rockwood Ultralite 2501SSRetired
2005 Chevy 2500HD 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/AllisonRetired
2014 Aliner Classic Off-Road Titanium
2010 Toyota Rav4 V6 with Factory Tow Package
4WallCamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:03 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
Thanks and I will be waiting to see the mod. I just thought that it would already be connected since the concertone has the dvd player that plays throught the tv I figured the sound would play also. These little things are whats agrivating that they could have done with an extra 30 seconds of work and didn't.
__________________
blake2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 01:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 89
We were told we couldn't do that because we did not have an output on our TV. Is that right. We wanted to do the same thing last week.
__________________
choice spot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 02:26 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Galloway,OH
Posts: 262
On mine there is an audio cable from TV to the audio input on the Concertone panel. If it is plugged into the audio output on the TV, nothing comes through the Concertone. However, if you plug it into the headset output on the TV and change the function to output 1 or 2 (never can remember until I am in front of it) you can then hear it through the speakers. Keep in mind you have to have the Concertone on the hear it because the TV is silenced.
__________________
grandpaofthree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 02:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 75
So if i'm understanding correctly I have the audio hook ups on the back of my concertone? I can take my phone jack out and put an audio jack in and run the wiring through the wall and tie into the back of the concertone and then connect my tv to the jack, correct? By the way how does the concertone come off the wall? Is it screwed are does it just lift or something?
__________________
blake2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 04:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Galloway,OH
Posts: 262
On my Z70, the main unit is wired in the bulhead to a panel that is mounted below the TV mount. I do not have to remove the main unit to get to it. I plug the antenna and audio cables from the TV into the jacks on the panel. To make it play through the speakers, I connect the cable from the "Audio" jack on the panel to the "headset" jack on the TV. If your unit isn't wired the same way then you may need to get to the back of the main unit.
__________________
grandpaofthree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 04:13 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
TV Sound

On ours I had to hook up small jumpers from audio out on the back of the television to the concertone board. They were color coded red/white. Also the slide controller need to be in the tv/mp3 player position if I remember correctly. Then had to go into the tv settings and turn off internal speakers. Had to them find the correct function on the concertone and I was in business. Don't remember which function it was but there are only a couple beside FM radio function. Hope this helps I am not a real Hi-tech guy. Best of Luck
__________________
Blaze67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 05:03 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NW Fla
Posts: 51
Guess they aren't all setup the same....on my Concertone, I press 'A' for main area, 'B' for bedroom, 'C' for outside.
__________________

__________________
Chuck (USAF Retired)
2009 Rockwood 8314SS
2006 Dodge Ram, 2500 4x4, 5.9


Days camped in 2009: 6
Days camped in 2010: 4
cwarren78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.