Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2016, 04:18 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,369
I ordered the 50 amp for my 30 amp trailer... there is a small amount of smoke and mirrors to installing as 50 to 30 trailer, but it will work. I kinda had to stand on my head to install... and then I had a defective unit... so it complicated the install. In the end it all worked out. Doing it over??? I would prolly bite the bullet and buy the one I need and use it as an upgrade when selling. I also have no current plans to upgrade as new trailers are $50K and up.
__________________

__________________
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 04:57 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 144
I found it helps some with #6 wire if you loosen the screws holding the contactor assembly and lift it out of the box slightly. Those #6 wires are very difficult to work with. And I mounted my monitor in the bay with the EMS.
__________________

__________________
David, Sherry and our three fur kids, Nicholas, Finnegan and Bentley
2013 Coachmen Encounter 36BH
2014 Honda CR-V/ Blue Ox Autostop
DSurette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 07:06 PM   #13
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidg View Post
For 50 amp, shouldn't it be 6 guage? I suppose for the short distance involved, 8 guage would be adequate. The 8/4 would be much easier to work with.

You are correct, but the OP is installing a 30amp unit. On the 50amp unit I installed in my coach, I used 6/4. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1458601613.752048.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	102525


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 07:24 PM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwannacamp View Post
I ordered the 50 amp for my 30 amp trailer... there is a small amount of smoke and mirrors to installing as 50 to 30 trailer, but it will work. I kinda had to stand on my head to install... and then I had a defective unit... so it complicated the install. In the end it all worked out. Doing it over??? I would prolly bite the bullet and buy the one I need and use it as an upgrade when selling. I also have no current plans to upgrade as new trailers are $50K and up.

You must be looking at the wrong dealer, my new Columbus 320rs was a ways south of 50k


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 07:25 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 238
When I installed my Surge Guard this weekend I used 6 gauge and found the factory wiring from the fuse panel to the connection the outside of the trailer is 8 gauge for the 50 amp service my camper has
__________________
Dinostop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 07:35 PM   #16
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dinostop View Post
When I installed my Surge Guard this weekend I used 6 gauge and found the factory wiring from the fuse panel to the connection the outside of the trailer is 8 gauge for the 50 amp service my camper has

Doesn't sound like that would pass rvia standards.id be checking into that


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 10:36 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
You must be looking at the wrong dealer, my new Columbus 320rs was a ways south of 50k


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"

I try not to look...makes me happy and hurts my feelings at the same time.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel
Our new 5er 10-26-16
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 10:48 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
deartruc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Southern New England
Posts: 818
x2 with Turbs. His install will allow you to unplug and walk away. I hardwaire mine right with the WFCO so it will go whenever I get rid of my unit.

I like the remote display where you can read it i the camper. Kind of geekish so you can see the draw when you push that toaster button down, turn on the microwave, etc. (Means nothing to DW until it goes blank ).
__________________
2008 Dodge Durango
2015 Roo 23 ikss
deartruc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 06:47 AM   #19
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
In my 5er, I had the remote display mounted on the cabinet opposite the entry steps so I saw it every time I walked in. Problem was, every time I walked in I stood there and watched it until it made a complete cycle of both lines. On the Georgetown I got the one with the internal display and now I have to open a hatch to check it out, which there really is no need as it will take care of you if something is wrong.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 07:41 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
sgtlm17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,156
I agree with aquaman about using appliance wire. Regular wire was a pia to run. I mounted my remote display low near power converter which is near the floor. Wish I put it higher I already hate having to bend down to check it.
__________________

__________________
2016 Forester GTS 2801QSF
sgtlm17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.