Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2016, 08:16 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaMan View Post
You are correct, but the OP is installing a 30amp unit. On the 50amp unit I installed in my coach, I used 6/4. Attachment 102525
Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Ahhh..gotcha. Thanks for clarification.
__________________

__________________
2016 Ford F-350 Lariat CC, 4x4 SRW. B&W turnover with extender. 2015 CC Silverback 29RE, fitted with Reese Goose Box. Amateur Extra Class K5TS, 2016 nights camped 16
Davidg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 08:18 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,624
Has anyone with a 8289WS installed a hard wire 30 amp unit? If so where did you install the unit and pendant? Is there room behind the convertor. Aqua Man was nice enough to help me install it at the Tadpole Rally, but If my body would allow me to get it in place I would rather do it then have to bother Aqua Man. Any suggestion would be welcomed of where you installed yours on a 8289WS. Thanks in advance. I also assume that I remove the wires from my 30 amp breaker and use them for the input side and then for the load side install back to the breaker is that correct?
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 09:37 AM   #23
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
Has anyone with a 8289WS installed a hard wire 30 amp unit? If so where did you install the unit and pendant? Is there room behind the convertor. Aqua Man was nice enough to help me install it at the Tadpole Rally, but If my body would allow me to get it in place I would rather do it then have to bother Aqua Man. Any suggestion would be welcomed of where you installed yours on a 8289WS. Thanks in advance. I also assume that I remove the wires from my 30 amp breaker and use them for the input side and then for the load side install back to the breaker is that correct?
You got it! Typically you can get to the backside of the breaker box behind a basement panel. About a 20 minute or so job.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 09:48 AM   #24
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
Has anyone with a 8289WS installed a hard wire 30 amp unit? If so where did you install the unit and pendant? Is there room behind the convertor. Aqua Man was nice enough to help me install it at the Tadpole Rally, but If my body would allow me to get it in place I would rather do it then have to bother Aqua Man. Any suggestion would be welcomed of where you installed yours on a 8289WS. Thanks in advance. I also assume that I remove the wires from my 30 amp breaker and use them for the input side and then for the load side install back to the breaker is that correct?
Put mine in the vacant space behind the converter. Plenty of room.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 01:13 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieS3 View Post
Several notes.

The remote display is very minimalist. I Mounted mine over the bedroom closet, so I can easily check it. I don't even notice it unless I look for it.

6 Gauge is what you should use for 50 Amps regardless of length. 8 for 30.
#10 copper wire is rated for 30 amps. #8 copper is rated for 50 amps. If you're going larger then it is overkill unless you're using aluminum wire. Although it shouldn't be a problem unless the lugs on the unit aren't big enough to accommodate the larger wire size.
Wiring inside a camper, your statement "regardless of length" will hold true. However, if you're running a 50 amp service to an outbuilding 200' from your house, then you would have to figure voltage drop and size it accordingly.
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 23LB
howie70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 09:30 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 238
According to every electrical table I looked at and electricians I've talked to, 50 amp service should be 6 and not 8. I used 6/4 appliance wire which was very flexible and easy to work with.
__________________
Dinostop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 09:33 AM   #27
John513
 
JohnRiordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 130
This is in xlr 29HFS.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1458826299807.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	34.6 KB
ID:	102683   Click image for larger version

Name:	1458826324338.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	102684   Click image for larger version

Name:	1458826357381.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	102685  
__________________
JohnRiordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 10:45 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 295
When I put mine in our 26TBQB the converter is under the fridge, so that's where I mount the surge protector. I got the remote and ran the wire behind the cupboards, and mounted the display on the end of the lower kitchen cabinets as high as I could.. That way I can see it while I'm setting up to make sure all is good.. It works pretty good and is no different than the level monitors, which are right above it..

But I'd definitely invest in the remote.. Especially if you can't get easy access to where you mount the surge protector...
__________________

__________________
Camped: 2017 (Days/Nights) - 30/25
2016 (Days/Nights) - 32/23, 2015 Nights - 29

TT: 2013 26' Revere TBQB
TV: 2014 GMC Sierra 1500 Z71 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.