Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2016, 10:40 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Installing a Progressive Industries HW30C 30

Hello,

Last summer we had our A/C fail in our 2014 Coachman TT. Dometic replaced under warranty so I was happy they stood behind their warranty. Anyway, that got me thinking about the need for a surge suppressor / voltage management system. We set up our unit at the same place and leave it for the summer. We've have power failures at the park on a normal basis.

So, I just ordered my PI HW30C 30 from Amazon. I will install next weekend. Anybody have any installation advice?
__________________

__________________
bheston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 10:43 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Installing a Progressive Industries HW30C 30

Very easy , btw Knowing what I know know I'd have ordered a 50 amp ems for your 30 amp camper so when you purchase your next camper and it's a 50 amp unit you could have taken it with you.


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 10:48 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,317
it comes with very clear instructions and good pictures.
__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 03:54 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
I'm having feelings that I don't want to put the remote readout somewhere that would be always visible and thus annoying. I do want to see it, but I'm thinking it would be better hidden inside a cabinet. Would you folks agree?
__________________
bheston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 04:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by bheston View Post
I'm having feelings that I don't want to put the remote readout somewhere that would be always visible and thus annoying. I do want to see it, but I'm thinking it would be better hidden inside a cabinet. Would you folks agree?
I'm thinking along the same line. I have an HW50 ordered which should arrive next week. I would like to place the remote digital readout where I can easily monitor on a regular basis, but I'd also like to be able to see it when I initially plug into the pedestal. I cannot do both, but I'm leaning toward placing it inside the coach. Not sure where yet, but there are only so many locations that are accessible. I'm still studying it.
__________________
2016 Ford F-350 Lariat CC, 4x4 SRW. B&W turnover with extender. 2015 CC Silverback 29RE, fitted with Reese Goose Box. Amateur Extra Class K5TS, 2016 nights camped 16
Davidg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 12:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 74
As far as being able to read the remote display from outside, this is generally not necessary as there is about a 15 second delay from "power on" at the pedestal until power is applied through the EMS. If there is a problem, no turn on. Otherwise you have time to go inside to monitor the turn on conditions.
__________________
DRiveWell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 12:52 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Go to Home Depot and get a 3' section of 8/4 appliance cord. It will make the install much easier, as it is very flexible.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 12:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 155
I installed my HW30 under the bath vanity behind an existing wood panel since that is where the power enters the trailer. I then mounted the display so it could be seen when I open the vanity door. Works great and out of the way. BTW, I also put a splash shield over the EMS box in case one of the H2O supply lines decides to rupture.
__________________
2015 Roo 23IKSS
2016 F150 SuperCrew 3.5 EcoBoost
Kanga99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 01:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaMan View Post
Go to Home Depot and get a 3' section of 8/4 appliance cord. It will make the install much easier, as it is very flexible.
For 50 amp, shouldn't it be 6 guage? I suppose for the short distance involved, 8 guage would be adequate. The 8/4 would be much easier to work with.
__________________
2016 Ford F-350 Lariat CC, 4x4 SRW. B&W turnover with extender. 2015 CC Silverback 29RE, fitted with Reese Goose Box. Amateur Extra Class K5TS, 2016 nights camped 16
Davidg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 01:56 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 54
Several notes.

The remote display is very minimalist. I Mounted mine over the bedroom closet, so I can easily check it. I don't even notice it unless I look for it.

6 Gauge is what you should use for 50 Amps regardless of length. 8 for 30.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC]

2005 Coachmen Sportscoach Encore 380DS
2014 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
CharlieS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.