Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2011, 10:40 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
Inverter not working

We are leaving for a 4 day camping trip, while getting packed and ready we realized the inverter is not working. We have no time to get it replaced, my question is since we will be at a state park with power can the inverter be bypassed easily? Thanks for anyones help and knowledge.
__________________

__________________
Lenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:52 AM   #2
Villa Estate 392FLFB
 
The_Stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,085
get a battery charger for deep cell batteries that has a "float" option. that float is to have it not over charge the battery.
__________________

__________________
One state/province at a time!
Full Timing - Salem Villa Estate - 392FLFB - Purchased July 29th 2010
The_Stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 11:05 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
The on-board power center includes a converter which takes 120 volts and converts it to 12 volts for certain appliances.....fridge (on gas), water heater (on gas), lights, water pump, furnace, slide, and maybe a few other items.

What exactly is not working ??
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 11:06 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Boyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iron River, MI
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenna View Post
We are leaving for a 4 day camping trip, while getting packed and ready we realized the inverter is not working. We have no time to get it replaced, my question is since we will be at a state park with power can the inverter be bypassed easily? Thanks for anyones help and knowledge.
Lenna, Are you refering to an add-on inverter that powers small electrical devices (computer/radio/phone charger) or the converter that comes as original equipment in your RV powering 12 volt lights and outlets, and also 120 AC appliances?
__________________
"If everything seems to be going well, look around, you've obviously overlooked something."
Boyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 11:23 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
I meant converter (original equipment)does not work, however the 12V in the camper does work directly from the battery, the 110 does not work, I wanted to bypass converter to make A/C work.
__________________
Lenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 11:35 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
1st, make sure you have power to the camper. The house GFI or breaker might have tripped.

2nd, make sure the main breaker and all of the 120 volt sub-breakers are on. Flip them all off and on forcefully......sometimes they look good, but have actually been tripped.

If that doesn't work, post here again and others will give you ideas.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 12:14 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
Thanks you guys, I am posting this for my husband. @mtnguy he is out on a job right now, we will try that. If that doesn't work I'll get back on here. This is a great site and so many helpful people.
__________________
Lenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 01:07 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
I couldn't wait until hubby came home. Outlet that trailer is plugged into works, main breaker and all subsequent breakers are on. Microwave will come on and all outlet plugs work ( I plugged a alarm clock into them). Fridge and A/C will not come on. Battery is unplugged so I couldn't check the lights. I know there must be some way to bypass the converter, I hope someone has an answer. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Lenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 01:12 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
The fridge will not work without 12 volts, so the battery will need to be reconnected, even if you are trying to get it to run on propane.

I am not sure, but I think the AC thermostat needs 12 volts to work also. Connecting the battery may solve all of your problems.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 02:44 PM   #10
Villa Estate 392FLFB
 
The_Stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,085
is it 50 or 30 amp service? 30 has 3 big prongs and 50 has 4 big prongs on the plugin to the hookups. if its 50, maybe one "leg" of the plugin isnt making connection and is the reason the AC wont go?
__________________

__________________
One state/province at a time!
Full Timing - Salem Villa Estate - 392FLFB - Purchased July 29th 2010
The_Stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bypass, inverter, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.