Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2011, 11:09 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Just took our first trip, have refrigerator question

We just enjoyed our first trip in our new 26TBUD. Everything went well except one peculiar thing with our frig. Before we left town, we cooled down our frig/freezer with propane and it worked great. On the way to our destination the frig stayed on with either battery power or propane (my husband did that part, and I'm not sure which he used, or if he even had a choice).

Once we got to the campground we plugged into electricity, and turned the frig to "auto", thinking it would run on electricity, since our PDI guy said that "auto" would use the "least depletable source of energy". Well, something went wrong. I think the frig was getting power, because the frig light continued to work, but it obviously quit cooling because after a few hours we opened the freezer and our once rock hard ice cream had liquified . We changed the button back to gas, and it froze up once again.

What did we do wrong, or is there some kind of problem with the frig?

I should mention that the electricity seemed to work fine everywhere else (our interior lights, etc.). And I think it was 30 amp, if that matters.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Kara in Memphis, TN
plus a 6 year old son, twin 2 year old daughters, and a husband
March 2011 - bought our first TT - 2011 26TBUD
Nights camped so far in 2011 - 2
karaintn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 11:36 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Hard to answer. You left out the fridge model. You are correct, at least on most frdges, the auto mode, should use electric, then switch to gas if the electric drops. Best way to test is to plug it up at home, then put in auto, turn the gas off, and wait a day, and see what happens. Check all your breakers, fridge may be on one by itself. You don't need a 30 amp cord for the fridge, will work on one of the adapters to 15 amp. Just don't run the microwave that way. You also didn't mention trailer make or model.
__________________

__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 11:44 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
I'll go out and write down the refrigerator make and model tomorrow and reply. The TT is a 2011 Salem 26TBUD.
__________________
Kara in Memphis, TN
plus a 6 year old son, twin 2 year old daughters, and a husband
March 2011 - bought our first TT - 2011 26TBUD
Nights camped so far in 2011 - 2
karaintn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
cardinal4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 314
I would say that the breaker for the fridge was tripped. I know sometimes when I plug my unit in the breaker for the fridge trips for no reason, check that. The light is 12v
__________________
3500 Ram 5.9l diesel
08 35 RLT Cardinal
5th Airborne Pin Box
cardinal4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 07:27 AM   #5
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardinal4fun View Post
I would say that the breaker for the fridge was tripped. I know sometimes when I plug my unit in the breaker for the fridge trips for no reason, check that. The light is 12v
Have to agree. This is where I'd start. If there's no issue there then the board may be bad. All of the lights will be lit since they all run off 12 volts.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 11:36 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Longwood Florida
Posts: 113
I know it sounds silly but check the back of the frig from the outside and see if it's pluged in. I had the same problem with my MH when I bought it and their "check out" never caught it.
__________________
peskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:45 PM   #7
Member
 
gregm59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Clinton, MI
Posts: 83
Sometimes, if I leave the button to "auto", remove the electric (for traveling), then re-connect once we get to our site, I have to physically toggle the button to get it to work properly. I think the indicator is "check" but the trailer isn't local right now. Does that light come on?
__________________
2007 Surveyor SV291
Equil-I-zer hitch
2005 Durango Hemi
gregm59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:02 PM   #8
Member
 
samsc03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia beach
Posts: 84
I am thinking that by actually pressing the 'auto' button after plugging into shore power you turned the unit off. When we are on LP before plugging in I don't press anything. It goes over automatically. Hense the automatic switchover I always figured. Then when I unplug and drive away it is back to LP. Always done this,both fridges we have had.

Sam and Tonya
__________________
2011 Shamrock 19
2003 Toyota Tacoma V6 4wd
Tekonsha Voyager
Equal-I-zer
samsc03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 07:50 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lenoir City, Tn
Posts: 54
I had the same issue as PESKIN. Once I removed the outside cover I found a standard 110 volt outlet and a three prong plug. Plugging it up solved my problem.
__________________
jamesp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 07:58 PM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by samsc03 View Post
I am thinking that by actually pressing the 'auto' button after plugging into shore power you turned the unit off. When we are on LP before plugging in I don't press anything. It goes over automatically. Hense the automatic switchover I always figured. Then when I unplug and drive away it is back to LP. Always done this,both fridges we have had.

Sam and Tonya
Sam is THE MAN.

If you want the fridge to work AT ALL; the Auto switch must be ON (auto light on).
Pressing the Auto switch again turns the fridge OFF (auto light off).

To select propane only (even when there is AC power) you press the GAS button (gas light on) Pressing the button again (gas light off) puts it back on AC power.

The check light should only come on if the gas DOES NOT LIGHT when the fridge tries to light it. To do that there must be no AC power AND no propane available.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.