Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2009, 12:53 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Laptop Problems

Was poking around last week and must have messed something up but can't figure out what. I am running Windows XP home on a Dell laptop. The messages I am getting are:

Instruction at oxooc89eec referenced at memory location oxoooooooo could not be written.

To help protect your computer Generic host process for win32 services has closed.

I have McAfee and Spyware doctor running and have run Adaware several times but the messages still sporadically come up. I have the original OS installation disk but it is service pack 2 and the current version on the machine is SP 3 so it is difficult to reinstall.

Any clues as to what to look at would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
tmmar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 01:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,552
Can you boot up at all? If so, try running System Restore and choose a date prior to when you were poking around. That may solve the problem.
__________________

__________________

Hokiehall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 01:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
I looked at that and it won't allow me to access a date prior to the problem.
__________________
tmmar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 01:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,552
Crap. Is this error giving you the Blue Screen of Death?
__________________

Hokiehall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 01:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
No - just causing these other messages to pop up at various times.
__________________
tmmar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 01:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,552
It is possible it might be a memory problem but I am not certain about that. The easiest thing would be to put new memory in the machine to see if that solves the problem. The one issue with that of course is it will cost some money. But it is relatively easy to do. If it works, problem solved. If not, you might need to re-install the OS.

Re-installing the OS might be your best bet but will require you to save any data files you have on to a memory stick or CD/DVD. You also will need all of your program installation disks. Sometimes a complete re-format is the best thing to do but requires time. It is not hard to do, but takes some time to re-install everything you had. It does give you an opportunity to get rid of old files you no longer need and will ultimately speed the machine up, at least for a while.

It is also no problem to upgrade to SP-3 once you re-install the OS. Simply go to the Microsoft website and download all of the security patches. It will be one of them.
__________________

Hokiehall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 01:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
hunt4240dw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bartlett, TN
Posts: 129
Send a message via MSN to hunt4240dw
Actually, you can re-install windows without loosing all your data. I have done it a few times on personally systems and a few times on work systems. I supports computer systems for my job. If you do reformat, then you will need to save data.

David
__________________

The Hunts
2012 F150 Ecoboost, 3.55, tow package
Equal-i-zer Hitch
2009 Flagstaff V-Lite 30WRLS
1982 16' Glastron Ski boat
hunt4240dw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 08:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
TravelSoftballDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hemet, Ca
Posts: 125
It is a memory problem. Go to START...RUN...then type "msconfig" in the box. Select Start-Up tab and you'll see all sorts of crap that runs at start-up. De-select all 'extra' stuff but leave your firewall/anti-virus. By turning them "off" you're not deleting anything and all with run, but not at start-up...only when needed.

See if that helps. Windows Media Center (not the player itself, but the program that allows you to watch / record TV) is notorious for that type of memory error.

Let us know how it goes.
__________________

2006 Avalanche 1500 w/6" lift
2007 Suburban 2500 4x4 w/4" lift
2008 Salem 26TBSS
P3 Controller
4 lil' ones & a Hottie for a wife
TravelSoftballDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 09:12 AM   #9
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,306
Sounds like a bad ram location to me. I agree with Kim. Change out the memory card(s) and see what happens. Wally World has laptop ram pretty cheap. Might be a chance to upgrade to larger as well.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 01:52 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
My Dell has an option to be able to restore it to the state it was in when it left the factory. Took about 10 mins. I did that and it seems to be running fine. I now must install all the third party software that I had on the machine, but that is minor compared to the problems I was having.
__________________

__________________
tmmar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.