Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2015, 09:38 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 10
Question Loosing eng power limp mode

Hi guys new to the forum and to the rv world we recently purchased 2009 Coachman Freelander 2100cb with a Freightliner chassis and a Mercedes drive train. The unit only has 15k and is extremely well taken care of unfortunately we have had several issues that no one seems to be able to fix. Lazy days 7 weeks Mobile rv Tampa no clue throwing parts at it. We are loosing power while driving the eng goes into limp mode allowing just enough power to get to the side of the road .Once I shut the eng off and recycle the key everything works an power is normal no codes no ck eng lights just frustration. The diesel filter has been changed so that's out .We have no faith in the unit at this point and are afraid to take a trip. We are also having generator issues no power to the rv once the genny is started this is also intermittent the have tested the breakers and all are fine there is nothing getting to the panel. It does not have a transfer switch so that's not it. we live close to Tampa so if anyone has a good service guy they use any recommendations would be helpful . We are at wits end with no fix as of yet any help is greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Travelinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 09:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
toslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 373
does the engine go in limp, or the transmission?
__________________

__________________
haven a blast
toslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 09:44 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 10
The engine when I stop the rpms will not go over 3k after I recycle the key normal rpms normal eng sound.
__________________
Travelinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 09:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
toslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 373
with no codes, thats a mercedes system so the shop would need the mercedes software to scan for codes, not just a obd2 mercedes has there own system

its a soft codes if you cycle the key and out goes away.

i would suggest taking it to a mercedes dealer and let them scan for codes.

and if you drive it there and it goes in limp mode don't shut it off or you'll erase the codes
__________________
haven a blast
toslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 09:55 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 10
That's my issue no one here works on Mercedes diesels except LD I called the Mercedes dealer and they jus giggled no we do not svc rv,s. The other issue is it took 900 miles to happen the last time .
__________________
Travelinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 01:18 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Loosing eng power limp mode

Sounds like a firmware issue in the onboard computer. When you make it to a dealer with the Factory provided diagnostics, you may want them to re-flash your computer. I also agree with previous responses - once you shut the engine off, the possibility exists that the error code will not remain in the system. However - it should. You may also want to have them check the onboard low voltage regulator on the board. If it is not able to maintain a charge to the battery on the board, this may be why you are not retaining error codes.

Good luck. I'd love to hear the final diagnoses.

Douglas Houston
99 Suburban 3/4 454 4.10
34 FKWSS V-Lite - (soon to be proud owner)
Flower Mound, TX
__________________
dhouston16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 02:36 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
We had the exact problem in our tow vehicle. It was the turbo. We ended up going about 50 miles at 20 to 30 mph until we turned it off at a gas station. Then it ran fine again. Some error codes shoed up. They replaced it under warranty. See if you can get Mercedes to check the turbo if it has one.
__________________
rlcruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 02:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 30
Had the same thing happen on a Ford Expedition. Mine was't a diesel, but I don't think it matters. The problem was with the Electronic Throttle Control. In newer vehicles, there is no direct linkage between the gas peddal and the engine throttle. Instead this is all done electronically. Sorry to say, it cost me @ $600 at a Ford dealer.
__________________
veraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 02:48 PM   #9
Old Ram Guy
 
Avenger61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 129
Are you using DEF fluid in it? My Ram cuts the speed of the truck when the DEF level gets below a certain point.
__________________
Marty, Jenice and DD
Avenger61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 02:49 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
The repair was covered under the 100,000 power train warranty.
__________________

__________________
rlcruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, modifications

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.