Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2008, 11:49 PM   #1
The Jolly Mon
 
NDJollyMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ND...HELP!
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via Yahoo to NDJollyMon
Micro tripping breaker..what up???

Ok, I need some electrical advice here....
I don't like to screw with it...cause I always get zapped!

ANYWAY...
This weekend...microwave worked just great. This morning...I go to use it, as soon as you hit START it trips the breaker off. It's plugged in up inside the cabinet...on a single outlet. The cord looks fine, clock and buttons work fine when breaker is reset...just trips when START is pushed. What the heck????
__________________

__________________
Pete (Jolly Mon)

2018 Wildwood Grand Lodge 42 DLTS
-Seasonal Space, Northern MN.
-2017 Sylvan 8522 LZ LES/115 Merc/Sea Legs
NDJollyMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 12:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Rockinwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central California
Posts: 277
I think your problem may be the microwave, a shorted HV Cap can cause this, or shorted HV Magnetron, Just bring it into my shop in CA. I will give you a free Estimate LOL, .. Take your microwave out and take it in to a trustworthy shop, you may want to plug it into direct power, if you hear a loud hum or buzz unplug it, it may blow your breaker in the house.


Needed to add on more thing, one of the door switches could be bad also, ok one more, if you want to check you HV cap, it is the metal caseing unit, the wires go up to the Magnetron, unhook all wires, get a mutltimeter, check across the 2 terminals of the Capacitor to see if it is shorted, if it is, let me know the brand and model #, I will see if I can locate it for you. Also you will see the value on the capacitor itself.
__________________

__________________
2007 Rockwood 8317ss Reese Dual cam sway, 2002 Ford Excursion XLT V10,Prodigy Brake controller
Married DW 03/15/97 3 kids
Rockinwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 09:25 AM   #3
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,715
I agree.
Try it indoors and you'll likely get the same result.
I'm surprised it doesn't have an internal fuse.......

Oh, yeah-- You can probably buy a new MW for the price of fixing
that one unless you can DIY.

Good luck!
__________________
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
bamasurveyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 286
This past weekend I had a similar problem. When i tried to use our microwave, it would trip the GFI breaker. we had the A/C running, and a couple of fans outside. No TV or radio. Had to turn off everything to get the micro to run. any ideas?
__________________
John
Ted
bamasurveyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:23 AM   #5
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,715
Faulty or mis-wired GFI.

I gotta wonder why the microwave is on the GFI???
It should be on it's own circuit.
__________________
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:34 AM   #6
AKA Bluebird
 
dimurrrw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via Yahoo to dimurrrw
Bad breaker???
__________________
Happy Camping! ///// Richard D.
2006 4x4 Ford 250 SD / 2007 Flagstaff 827 FLS
One very patient wife and one furry child who travels with us. Forty-two years of trailering and camping, and I still have a blast.

dimurrrw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:48 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
bamasurveyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 286
Good point Kydan, The Converter/circuit board was replaced last year after a severe power serge fried the factory one. There maybe a crossed wire in there.
__________________
John
Ted
bamasurveyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 12:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rockinwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central California
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
Faulty or mis-wired GFI.

I gotta wonder why the microwave is on the GFI???
It should be on it's own circuit.
I have to agree with you, this should not be wired to a GFI IMO, EX if you hook up a High power microwave to a power strip with a breaker, it will trip almost every time.
__________________
2007 Rockwood 8317ss Reese Dual cam sway, 2002 Ford Excursion XLT V10,Prodigy Brake controller
Married DW 03/15/97 3 kids
Rockinwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 01:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
Sounds like they are made by the Concertone people, too!!! Randy
__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 01:31 PM   #10
Member
 
spepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 57
the last few times I used my microwave to heat up some corn on the cob, it stopped working, and I had to wait 20 minutes for it to work again....now the breaker didnt trip....could it be overheating?
__________________

__________________
DW, 2 Teen's, 2 Dogs
2006 Chevy Suburban
3.42 Gears
Prodigy Brake Control
Reese 800lb Weight Dist Bars
Dual Cam Sway Control
2008 Rockwood 2701ss
Mansfield, MA
spepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.