Old 05-26-2016, 09:42 AM   #1

Need help shocked turning on the water heater

I got shocked turning on the water heater element, after I purged the relief valve. Everything was wet and I was standing in the grass. No other shocking issues anywhere else on/in the trailer. No shock when we were leaving and I turned the switch off.(it was dry then) I know this is a safety issue for me and my family so how can I test for and hopefully fix this. I'm not an electrician but I can use a multi-meter. Thanks for any help.
It's a Suburban water heater.

2006 GMC Sierra CC 1500 Z71
2014 Palomino Solaire Eclipse 297rlds
Husky Centerline w/d hitch
Retusps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 12:20 PM   #2
Site Team

Let me send out the bat signal to Mike Sokol, who is the defacto best there is at these things.

In the mean time, check this thread out as others had water heater element problems:

I get shocked when touching RV

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 12:55 PM   #3

My first guess would be a failed electrical heater element.

However, if that is ruled out then consider the following excerpt that says it better than I can: Why is My RV Shocking Me?

These electrical shocks can be caused by a reversed polarity problem in the electric receptacle that your RV is plugged into, a polarity problem in the extension cord you are using to plug in your RV or to a shorted wire somewhere in your RV's electrical system. This problem can also be caused by an improper ground in the receptacle, extension cord or in the RV.
..... reversed polarity which is the most common cause of "Hot Skin" in RV's.

Now we need to determine which part of the electrical system is causing your problem. You can use your polarity tester to help determine the cause.