Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 02:45 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
No outlet power

Just purchased a Park model trailer and discovered that the outside outlet has no power. All GFI's appear to be working properly. No tripped breakers. Outlet is wired properly. Any ideas where to start?? Thanks
__________________

__________________
fishinnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 04:02 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
With a voltmeter. Seriously though, all outside outlets must be on some sort of GFI circuit. Got to be a GFI plug in a bath has been tripped, or a breaker tripped.

Why do you think outlet is wired properly, because you removed and found 3 wires connected? Not trying to offend, but electricity is something neither you nor I can see. It takes a meter and some some skill with a lot of luck sometimes. By the way, what year and model is your trailer, and being a Park Model, did you purchase it on site? Sometimes these details help and if anybody has one, they may can help more. Welcome to the forums.
__________________

__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 04:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
cardinal4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 314
I would start with all of the gfi outlets. Push the test button and reset. If all goes well there I would check the breakers, turn all off and on just to make sure they are set. If by chance you have a gfi breaker make sure its working. With all of that done and you still do not have power to the outside outlet, its time for the meter.

good luck
__________________
3500 Ram 5.9l diesel
08 35 RLT Cardinal
5th Airborne Pin Box
cardinal4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 01:06 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardinal4fun View Post
I would start with all of the gfi outlets. Push the test button and reset. If all goes well there I would check the breakers, turn all off and on just to make sure they are set. If by chance you have a gfi breaker make sure its working. With all of that done and you still do not have power to the outside outlet, its time for the meter.

good luck
I've already tested the GFi's and all the breakers. Time for the meter I guess. Thanks for ther responses.
__________________
fishinnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 07:47 AM   #5
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,716
How did you "test" your GFIs without a meter?
Did you plug a lamp or something into them to see they
are hot??
Donno what a "park model" trailer is and you don't mention
if it's new or used or any other info so this is all guessing.....

My trailer has the outlet outside but the backside of this
outside outlet is accessible from the under dinette seat storage
area. I can raise the plywood seat bottom and see it from
behind.
IF the outside outlet is dead and all inside outlets are hot then
you should open up the nearest inside outlet and see if there
is a loose wire there.
They are daisy chained together in most trailers.
The chain is broken somewhere.
You'll just have to look in each outlet box and try to find
the loose connection.

In my last 2 trailers I added an inside switch to the outside
outlet. This is so we can shut off the awning lights without
having to go outside to unplug them.
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 10:42 AM   #6
Villa Estate 392FLFB
 
The_Stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,085
I have a park model trailer to. my outside one works, the kitchen ones work, but the entertainment one blows the breaker soon as anything is plugged into it. checked it with a wiring checker (has the lights that light up if something is wired wrong etc) and it checked out okay. so next step is to take the covers off and check the wiring!

oh.. do they use the poles or does FR have the plugins that you strip a bit of wire and stick them in the back of the receptical?
__________________
One state/province at a time!
Full Timing - Salem Villa Estate - 392FLFB - Purchased July 29th 2010
The_Stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 11:44 AM   #7
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,716
Neither, they use the cheapie outlets where they don't even
have to strip the wire.
There is a little U shaped terminal.
They simply cram the wire sideways into the U.
It cuts thru the insulation and hopefully makes contact
with the copper.

I think they are lame and prone to vibration loosening.
Cheap and fast to install is the name of the game.
Keep good batteries in your smoke detector!!
__________________
KyDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 12:10 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Just a thought, being a Park Model, is the outlet on a switch by chance? Plug in a shop vac, and start turning on switches. When you here the shop vac, you found it. Don't quit trying until they are ALL in ON position.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 12:13 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by windrider View Post
Just a thought, being a Park Model, is the outlet on a switch by chance? Plug in a shop vac, and start turning on switches. When you here the shop vac, you found it. Don't quit trying until they are ALL in ON position.
I've already tried all the switches too!
__________________
fishinnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 12:38 PM   #10
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Just my 2 cents. The wire feeding that outlet is connected to the back of another outlet. You may have to remove a few outlets near that GFI to check if the wiring is properly connected. It may be ok at the GFI but where that wire originates could be your problem. Also you may just have a bad GFI receptacle.
You should invest in a Multi-Meter for your trailer. It doesn't need to be a top of the line model. Sears, Radio Shack, or Lowes or Home Depot all sell them.
__________________

__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.