Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2016, 03:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
one a/c not sending air through vents

Hello. I have 2 new dometic 15's on my wildwood 408 reds. I've only had one a/c before and I would use a window unit when needed. With the one unit I would have a cold bedroom and bathroom but the big room (kitchen, living room, big left and right slideouts) would be warm. The a/c vents at the end of the rv hardly blew air.
Now I have two a/c's. The a/c that is mounted in the bedroom (never had one there prior) does not seem to send air through any vent when it is the only air powered on. When I have both a/c's on I feel a noticible difference of stronger airflow through the living room vents so the bedroom mounted a/c is doing something but when the bedroom a/c is on by itself there is no air flowing through any vent. I can open the vent adjacent to the filter and she will blow like a hurricane but with that vent closed she wont send air out of any duct vent but she will noticebly assist the flow through the ducts when both air are on.
Figured I'd post this before I get on the tech who installed the a/c's.
thank you
__________________

__________________
kdc1899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 12:31 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
anyone?
thanks
__________________

__________________
kdc1899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 02:15 PM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,322
I'm not sure that the ducting on the two A/C's are tied together?
Does the other A/C blow air out the quick cool vents of the bedroom A/C when it's on?

Have you pulled the grill off the bedroom unit to see if it's connected to the duct work.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 06:59 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
The local rv guy who installed it niw says that the unit is stand alone and not capable to be ducted.
Seems like a waste of money. The bedroom and bathroom were always cold with the single unit. The big room was always warm. I always had a $100.00 window unit that took care of that and still have to use it.
oh well.
thanks for y'all's time.
__________________
kdc1899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 09:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,702
I thought that most of 2nd AC units are non ducted.


2010 F250 5.4L 3.73
2011 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Equal-i-zer 4pt 12K
__________________

2011 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
2010 F250 4X4 5.4L 3.73 LS
EQUALIZER E4 1200/12000
lbrjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 10:30 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
Live and learn I guess.
__________________
kdc1899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 01:39 PM   #7
CDR USN Ret
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Full-Time
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbrjet View Post
I thought that most of 2nd AC units are non ducted.


2010 F250 5.4L 3.73
2011 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Equal-i-zer 4pt 12K
If both fed a single supply duct, when both were running, their fans would be fighting each other and very little air would flow.
__________________
2015 XLR415AMP
2011 3500HD Duramax/Allison/90 Gal Aux
2015 HD Limited Low
DSQR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 01:53 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 144
My new 2015 Rockwood TT has 2 a/c vents in bedroom and one not blowing cold air. Long story short, one of the vents was not connected from the factory. Hard to believe. I guess many would say "not really". Dealer did the repair no problem.
__________________
robbdrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 02:05 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSQR View Post
If both fed a single supply duct, when both were running, their fans would be fighting each other and very little air would flow.


Not true whatsoever!
I have two ducted a/c units "I installed the second" and I doubled my air flow in every vent.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "10"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 02:06 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdc1899 View Post
The local rv guy who installed it niw says that the unit is stand alone and not capable to be ducted.
Seems like a waste of money. The bedroom and bathroom were always cold with the single unit. The big room was always warm. I always had a $100.00 window unit that took care of that and still have to use it.
oh well.
thanks for y'all's time.


Are the a/c controls on the unit or do you have a thermostat?


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "10"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
vent

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.