Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2010, 09:03 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 285
I agree with buying the VuCube. I also bought the 100' coaxial cable to move in & out of the trees. I had a satellite dish, but wasted so much time setting it up, & then not getting the signal. The VuCube doesn't need to be level. Just look for the open-southern sky & point the handle north. With Directv, you are searching for 1 satellite, Dish Network has 2, and you split the difference between satellites. I do not have the automatic, but can set up in just a few minutes. I don't go camping to watch tv, but sometimes its nice to have the options if there is bad weather outside & dont have to worry about the wind blowing it over.
__________________

__________________
2006 Rockwood 8272S
2005 Chevrolet Silverado
John & Pandra
Battlefield, Missouri
F.R.O.G. Member
1st International F.R.O.G. Rally Branson Missouri
JohnandPandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:56 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Does the VuCube receive DirectTV HD?
__________________

__________________
diamondjindustries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 11:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 42
Not trying to hijack the thread but, for those of you with Directv HD, how hard is it to point the dish? Do you need two or more coax cables running to the reciever? If so, how did you do that? I currently am using a single LNB dish and only have one sat in on the back of the trailer. Can you use the TV IN and SAT IN connections to do that?
__________________
2004 Sandpiper 32RLSS
1999 F350
Grounded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 08:40 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Hipshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 222
I use The same type of Direct TV HD dish that is on my house it is a 5 LNB SLM (Single Line Module). The older HD dishes had three or 4 coaxes coming out ot the dish. These went to a splitter/combiner. From the splitter/combiner there was 1 coax going to each receiver. In the newer SLM dish the splitter/combiner is built into the LNB arm with 1 coax coming out. This single coax goes to a small splitter and from there 1 coax goes to each receiver. For the TT use I run the single coax from the SLM dish to the SAT port on the side of the TT, I do not use the splitter. The SLM dish does require a power supply that was included with the dish. The power is sent to the dish via the coax. My power supply is mounted in the entertainment cabinet close to the receiver. The SLM dish can be purched on ebay. But be careful if it doesn't state 5 LNB SLM, it isn't. Hope this helps.
__________________
2010 Rockwood 2604SS
2008 Silverado 1500 LTZ 4X4

Great Wife and Idiot Yorkie
True Friends are like diamonds, precious and rare.
False ones like autumn leaves found everywhere
Hipshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 08:43 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Hipshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 222
Sorry, I missed your question about pointing. It takes me less than 10 minutes to hit the Sat.
__________________
2010 Rockwood 2604SS
2008 Silverado 1500 LTZ 4X4

Great Wife and Idiot Yorkie
True Friends are like diamonds, precious and rare.
False ones like autumn leaves found everywhere
Hipshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 08:57 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Hipshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 222
According to SolidSignal website the Vu Cubes are not designed to to receive Direct TV HD. I have read on other forums that they will receive Dish Network HD.
__________________
2010 Rockwood 2604SS
2008 Silverado 1500 LTZ 4X4

Great Wife and Idiot Yorkie
True Friends are like diamonds, precious and rare.
False ones like autumn leaves found everywhere
Hipshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 10:12 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipshot View Post
According to SolidSignal website the Vu Cubes are not designed to to receive Direct TV HD. I have read on other forums that they will receive Dish Network HD.
Yes, that is correct.

We own the 1000 model and use it for Standard definition DirectTV. Once all the wires are plugged in, it takes us less than a minute to find a signal... less than 30 seconds most times.

Huge +1. We have three kids and it is a real life saver.
__________________
Nights camped in 2010 = 21 nights

2008 Chevy CCab 5.3L 4WD Z71
2008 FR Surveyor 291
Champion Genset
Slpybear, Mrs Slpybear, Three Cubs
slpybeartx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 10:53 AM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks Hipshot that's what I had heard.
__________________
diamondjindustries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:31 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
I usually do the sweep methoid. Don't sort abt level. Turn the gain up and go till u get something, then zero that in. Check the rec to see if ur on the correct sat. If not, try again. I usually look for 119. (I have dish). It would usually take 10 minutes. The times I fought it was usually when there was an obstruction.
now I have the Winegard automatic and it takes abt 5 minutes to find and lock on 110, 119, and 129. U will have to have it stable. Now I get all my programming. Wanting the HD. Channels made me part with the money.
It has to be supplied with 12volts seperately. I installed a cigarette lighter type plug on my RV battery fused for 5amp to plug into. Lots of money.
I used a setup like u have for 17 yes. Sweep, elevate slightly, repeat zero in then tighten bolts.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 03:12 PM   #20
Member
 
colorado4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 35
The VuQube is the way to go. I have VQ1000. It's not the auto model but set up only takes a few minutes using Direct Tv. Like other satellite dishes you need clear view of southern sky. Just set it down on level ground pointing south input the elevation in the wireless remote and start adjusting the remote to find the strong signal. This unit gets it's power from the receiver. It is a little pricey but as slpybeartx it takes out a lot of frustration. It makes for a happy marriage.
__________________

__________________
colorado4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.