Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-08-2008, 07:15 PM   #1

Question About Receiver Height

I am getting ready to tow with my new 2008 Chevy pick-up truck heavy duty 1/2 ton for the first time. I have been towing with a 1997 GMC Suburban 3/4 ton for the past 8 years. I checked the height of both receivers and found that the receiver on the new 1/2 ton is 2" lower then the GMC Suburban, the question is will there be any problem with this? Now my hitch system is a Reese weight distribution with sway control (spring bars). I increased the tire pressure to the max on front and rear to 44 psi on the new truck, just thought I would put that in because of the hitch system. One other thing, my Rockwood came with ST205/75R15-C rated Carlisle tires which have been replaced with ST225/75R15-D rated Goodyear Marathons. The Goodyear tires are a little taller then the Carlisles, I think about 1 1/2 to 2". I had no problem towing with the Suburban with the Goodyear tires, but I am wondering about the new truck with the receiver being lower. I know it is not the end of the world because I am sure there some adjustments that can be made if necessary. Please give me some suggestion if anyone for see's any issues. Thanks in advance.....
rockwood06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 05:17 AM   #2
CampeRooo