Old 02-15-2013, 07:29 PM   #1

R factor Crazy

We are looking at upgrading from our TT to a fifth wheel. Our TT was our first purchase for camping and we have enjoyed it very much. When we purchase the TT we were told all of the great features and that it had a four season package. We were told this would allow year round camping and I assume some of the item such as heated tanks and underbelly heating is great but, I found the living area to be less than comfortable at times during the winter and the area inside the slides to be cold. The R ratings for my unit are R7 sidewall R12 floor and R14 roof. Now that I have been doing this for a couple of years I plan to pay closer attention to this on my next purchase.

We plan to use the new fifth wheel year round and hopefully in a couple of years we may be full timing it. The issue I have regarding the R factors has to do with the material, solid blocks of foam to a 30 rating with foil coating to increase it to a 40, or batten, foam foil to a R54 total...but then theres the sales pitch on how one is better that the other and one will cause moisture and the other one will not. It crazy and confusing. The one common area I have noticed is the small R factors are consistent in the slides and windows.

The windows and inside the cabins of my TT are always wet during the winter when the furnace is going. Hot air meets cold surface...moisture, our worst enemy in the RV.

Any guidance or suggestions on the R Factor for my new unit are appreciated.

Old 02-15-2013, 07:39 PM   #2
Granny Frog