Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2016, 03:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 56
Running furnace on 110 outlet

Hi everyone.

I've read it's not a good idea to try to run my A/C in my Grey Wolf on 110, but is it OK to test the furnace on this output? We'll be making our last trip of the season in a couple weekends and I believe it will be chilly and want to test my furnace for the first time before we go.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Moellerdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2016, 03:41 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,645
You can run your AC on home 110V AC if you have a 30A outlet and the power cable run is normal length. The Furnace runs on 12V so it will run even when not connected to shore power. When on Shore power, the converter will provide some of the power. It appears you have a new unit. If you have not run the furnace before, I recommend running it for 20-30 mins with the windows open as you need to burn off the oils that remain from manufacturing. You might remove the smoke detector battery as there could be some smoke. If you remove the smoke detector battery leave it open to remind you it is disabled.
__________________

__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 65W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2016, 03:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 56
Fantastic. Thank you for the response!
__________________
Moellerdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2016, 03:52 PM   #4
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 10,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moellerdan View Post
Hi everyone.

I've read it's not a good idea to try to run my A/C in my Grey Wolf on 110, but is it OK to test the furnace on this output? We'll be making our last trip of the season in a couple weekends and I believe it will be chilly and want to test my furnace for the first time before we go.

Thanks!
You do know that the furnace is 12v DC right?
So you don't need to plug the trailer into shore power to run it.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
'07 Roo 23SS pushing an '07 Chevy Avalanche
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 09:10 PM   #5
larryandamy
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 55
AC on 115VAC

Furnace is no problem as it runs on 12VDC and 115VAC hookup just keeps your batteries charged.
A/C draws a lot of current, but it does run on 115VAC and not 220VAC.
The standard 15/20A normal wall outlet connectors can overheat and melt over time, especially is there is not good and clean contact force.
So 115VAC is OK, but run it off of a 30A connector if you can.
Yes, this 30A is called a 220VAC connector as there is 220VAC between L1 and L2. But the AC runs off of 115VAC L1 or L2 contacts to the common ground/neutral third contact.
What the 220VAC 30A or 50A connector buys you is bigger contacts with higher contact surface and force to handle the high current the AC unit draws.

If you are forced to plug into a standard 15/20A wall outlet, then make sure the contacts are clean with good contact force and if you do not blow the 20A circuit breaker and the connector doesn't get hot, you can get buy... But not a good practice.

Thanks
__________________
larryandamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 11:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryandamy View Post
Furnace is no problem as it runs on 12VDC and 115VAC hookup just keeps your batteries charged.

A/C draws a lot of current, but it does run on 115VAC and not 220VAC.

The standard 15/20A normal wall outlet connectors can overheat and melt over time, especially is there is not good and clean contact force.

So 115VAC is OK, but run it off of a 30A connector if you can.

Yes, this 30A is called a 220VAC connector as there is 220VAC between L1 and L2. But the AC runs off of 115VAC L1 or L2 contacts to the common ground/neutral third contact.

What the 220VAC 30A or 50A connector buys you is bigger contacts with higher contact surface and force to handle the high current the AC unit draws.



If you are forced to plug into a standard 15/20A wall outlet, then make sure the contacts are clean with good contact force and if you do not blow the 20A circuit breaker and the connector doesn't get hot, you can get buy... But not a good practice.



Thanks


30 amp rigs have only 1 leg of 120 volts at 30 amps. This is 120 volt only. This provides 3,600 watts of power.

50 amp rigs have 2 legs of 120 volts at 50 amps each leg. This is 120/240 volts. Most all rigs have only 120 volt appliances though. This provides 12,000 watts of power.
__________________

__________________
325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.