Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2019, 12:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 37
RV Comfort.zc - zones operate at same time

Just got a brand new Chap 360IBL. First night, hooked it in to generator 110V and was able to get living room AC running no problems.

Next day I was tried to do it again, but it kept popping the circuit breaker on the generator. I didn't have time to troubleshoot, but now I am looking in to it.

Somehow my thermostat got messed up. I can't operate zones independent of each other. I have two zones... anything I do happens to both. So if I just turn the fan on, both fans come on. Needless to say the generator can't handle both AC's turning on.

I pulled the fuse for a few mins to try to reset the thermostat, no help. I thought maybe I was getting "dirty" power, so I tried to hookup to my house (110V 20amp) to see if I could at least operate the fans independently of each other - no go. Thermostat still stuck in mode where both zones function as one.

Any thoughts?
__________________

parver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 03:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 37
Here is my setup with my generator. I ran the numbers and it should be able to hold one AC running. Switch should be in 120V/240V, right?

One AC coming on is tripping the breaker on the generator after a few minutes.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190605_155423152_HDR.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	352.0 KB
ID:	206520   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190605_155427636_HDR.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	301.1 KB
ID:	206521   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190605_155455454.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	226.4 KB
ID:	206522  
__________________

parver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 03:34 PM   #3
llr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 915
Not sure about your generator but I am guessing that the 4400 is peak watts and running is substantially lower, maybe 3500 for discussion and for 240V is half per line, or 1750 per line which is just under 15amps continuous per line which would be pushing it.

In the 120V mode with a different adapter to the generator and probably a 30-50A adapter too, your TT would have about 30A to use which it currently has but it could use 30A on one line and zero on the other if needed, just like plugging into 30A power at a campground.

No idea why the thermostat is not controlling the zones separately but it may not solve the issue if it did
__________________
TT 2017 Flagstaff 831CLBSS Classic Ultra lite
TV 2014 Silverado 2500 HD
llr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 03:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by llr View Post
Not sure about your generator but I am guessing that the 4400 is peak watts and running is substantially lower, maybe 3500 for discussion and for 240V is half per line, or 1750 per line which is just under 15amps continuous per line which would be pushing it.

In the 120V mode with a different adapter to the generator and probably a 30-50A adapter too, your TT would have about 30A to use which it currently has but it could use 30A on one line and zero on the other if needed, just like plugging into 30A power at a campground.

No idea why the thermostat is not controlling the zones separately but it may not solve the issue if it did
You are correct, it's 4400 peak and 3500W running.

I am having better luck with a 110V normal extension cord (25ft 12 gauge) (see pictures). Been running 30 min and hasn't tripped. So you may be on to something.

With the switch in the 120V/240V it is sending 1750amp per line? If I switch it to 120V, I am guessing it's going to send all the watts on a single line. Is that what the RV wants?

This is the manual but it's not super helpful

https://images.homedepot-static.com/...888a9fe00a.pdf

I appreciate your help. See pics of current setup.

I should rename this thread generator issues because I think I need to get to the bottom of this first!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190605_164443572_HDR.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	223.7 KB
ID:	206524   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190605_164451554.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	230.8 KB
ID:	206525   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190605_164457188_HDR.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	108.9 KB
ID:	206526  
parver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 04:00 PM   #5
llr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 915
I am not clear from the diagram on the generator what pins are used for 120V 30A but you probably need a different adapter unless it just ties the 2 hots the you should be ok. don't tie the externally as it could be fireworks depending on what it is doing.
__________________
TT 2017 Flagstaff 831CLBSS Classic Ultra lite
TV 2014 Silverado 2500 HD
llr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 04:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by llr View Post
I am not clear from the diagram on the generator what pins are used for 120V 30A but you probably need a different adapter unless it just ties the 2 hots the you should be ok. don't tie the externally as it could be fireworks depending on what it is doing.
This is the adapter I am using:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073XRZTC4

If I switch it to 120V it won't divide the two, and give me the full wattage on a single line... at least that is what I am hoping. The manual isn't clear. Attached is the part of it.

I am trying to use the 50 amp cord instead of this 12 gauge cord. That was my thinking behind going with the other adapter.

I think my thermostat is screwing up because I killed the breaker on one of them and the bedroom AC has been running for a couple hours on the 110V setup. I think the other AC was randomly kicking on, bringing everything down.

Could be AC->DC converter be at fault?

My fridge is 12V. When I connected to my house, the fridge ran extremely loud... which was odd. Off the generator, it's pretty quiet
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mygen_voltage_selector_switch.png
Views:	30
Size:	37.2 KB
ID:	206527  
parver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 05:59 PM   #7
llr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 915
If you have a meeter and are comfortable with live power. Measure between the two hot slots in the outlet and from each hot to the common and supply the results, ignore the ground connection
__________________
TT 2017 Flagstaff 831CLBSS Classic Ultra lite
TV 2014 Silverado 2500 HD
llr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 02:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rlh1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Southeast
Posts: 1,047
What amperage is the circuit breaker on the generator? If it is only 30Amp that is why. You are only providing 30amp output to a 50amp RV.
When in a campsite that only had 30amp sites still available... you can camp and get electric, but doubtful you'll be able to operate 2 AC's on 30Amp in you coach at the same time.
__________________

__________________
2018 Forest River Rockwood Roo
24WS

2019 Ford SD F-350 SRW Lariat
Tow & Gooseneck Prep
FX4 Off Road (4X4)
rlh1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.


×