Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2014, 05:55 PM   #1

Sealant question

So I bought new "door holders" for the exterior of my 2005 surveyor 291. A few screws is all that holds them on. My question is how do I re-seal around/behind them? I've read about butyl tape and caulk. Do I use this? Do I need to use anything in the screw holes before I put them back in? Anything around the edges AFTER I put the caulk/tape behind it? Any help is GREATLY appreciated. I'm new to repairs on my TT. THANKS!!!!
Currey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 07:12 PM   #2

I would only use sealers by Dicor(rv sealers) or construction/outside sealant that is used for windows. I used the construction stuff when cut a hole in my trailer to install an outside shower. Looks and is flexible after a year, never fully cured/dried.
Kuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:32 PM   #3

I'm not sure what your "door holders" are, but if they have a flat side that buts against the sidewall of the TT then Butyl tape is a good thing to use. There is also a non- Butyl version of this tape. Either tape will work, Butyl is the best of the two. Do NOT use a silicon product.

2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax Crewcab
Jeep Commander - sold
Flagstaff V-Lite WRB26
kz08h5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:38 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by kz08h5 View Post
I'm not sure what your "door holders" are, but if they have a flat side that buts against the sidewall of the TT then Butyl tape is a good thing to use. There is also a non- Butyl version of this tape. Either tape will work, Butyl is the best of the two. Do NOT use a silicon product.