Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-12-2019, 10:06 AM   #1

Soft Floors Need Help Please

My name is Kelley and I am a full time RV resident and brand new owner of a 2016 Forest River Lacrosse. I came to this forum through Google as my RV needs extensive flooring repair. I hope to get some good suggestions as I am temporarily (hopefully) disabled and limited on income for the time being. I was sold this beautiful RV last month and saw no problems with it. Even though it had a "salvage rebuilt" title I looked it over for three hours with a fine tooth comb. Two days after I got it here I started noticing soft or spongey spots in the floor by the front door and in the hallway back to the bedroom. The spots have grown substantially in just a short month that I’ve had it Are all the Google posts that I have read so far true? Is this really as big of a nightmare and expense as everyone says? Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I just got gouged for $500 for a set of rickety wooden steps 😔 I do not have a trustworthy handyman
Kdspott72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2019, 10:15 AM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Not being able to see your R/V, answering your questions can be difficult.

Keep in mind, when building an R/V, the floor is the first thing to go down and everything is built on top of it. Rotted flooring can go under the walls and other places of structure.

I'm not saying yours is that way but again, without seeing it, we are only guessing.

If you are disabled and not able to do the repairs yourself, you need to hopefully find someone better than whomever took you for $500 to build you a set of steps. The repairs to an R/V floor will be way more involved than step building.

Best of luck to you and I hope you heal quickly.

Days Camped '19=118 '20=116 '21=123 '22=134 '23=118 '24=64
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote