Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-29-2010, 09:42 AM   #1

stabalizing camper

we just bought a 34 ft. camper. it came with the stabilizer jacks front and rear. i have been camping for a few years but, need to know if anyone out there has come up with a way to keep the camper from"rocking" and making it more stable? have tried some small bottle jacks on axles. it helped some, but not enough. thanks for the replies.
kappel15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 09:46 AM   #2
Jan Goldfield

Ahhh, here's a use for the wooden blocks. If you make the distance from the bottom of the jack to the ground less by using blocks, your camper will be more stable. See pic here:
woodenblocks | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

2009 Cherokee Grey Wolf 28BH
2009 Ford 150
pondlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:20 AM   #3

You can mount extra jacks near the center of the trailer for best results.

A cheaper way, with okay results, woud be using the "X" type chocks that fit between the tires.

Hope this helps.
grhodes50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:33 AM   #4

One of the problems I see on my Rockwood Windjammer is the crossmember that the Stabilizer attaches to is to small.

With the stabilizers down I can push on the back of the the trailer and rock it and I can see this 1 1/4" angle iron crossmember flexing a lot.

I currrently using automotive jack stands under the rear frame rails until I can replace or reinforce the crossmember. The trailer is rock solid for now.

What I did was level the trailer. measured the height to the rear frame rails. Set the jack stand and found some wood shims. Lowered the tongue. Set the stands and raised the tongue back up till the frame touched the stands. Works great sitting on concrete. Not sure I'd do this on any other surface.
DCRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:57 AM   #5

Quote: