Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2014, 10:11 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
cruisin2251le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 15
Tank heaters

Hi need some advice new camper I turn on heaters switch lights up but no amp draw on system no blown fuse on panel is there a inline fuse ?
__________________

__________________
cruisin2251le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 10:18 AM   #2
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,376
Mine only kick on when outside temps get close to freezing. @ 40 I think. How cold is it where you are?
__________________

__________________
2013 Rockwood 8282WS
Reese Revolution Pin, Reese 16K
2008 Tundra Limited Double Cab 5.7L
Air Lift 5000 w/Wireless Air

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 10:52 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,623
No fuse that I know of but DCHEATWOOD is correct they come on at 40 degrees and shut off at 60 degrees. They are on a temp sensor. I would think that it's to warm in the basement for it to come on. I THINK they draw like 14 to 16 amps when on. Hope that helps a little. Camaradeie, just showed me an amp pro that reads the DC current. Got it on Amazon. Clamp that baby around the DC hot leg and it will show you how many amps that circuit is pulling in DC. I have to thank him and also recommend it to everyone for use as a multi meter. You will beable to see how many amps anything is pulling, plus what amount of amps your charger is putting out.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 10:54 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
cruisin2251le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 15
Checked at 32 and going by the reading on the emshw30 and touch
__________________
cruisin2251le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 12:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruisin2251le View Post
Checked at 32 and going by the reading on the emshw30 and touch
How cold is it where you are at 32 like you said? Are you running your Furnace with a duct in the basement? That would stop them from coming on if I understand you correctly. If your basement is above 40 degrees they will not come on. Some member also had a problem and he found that they cut a wire during installation.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 02:19 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
cruisin2251le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 15
Working on it now power in power out of switch working my way back now question how far back can I go before I hit the thermostat its 46 now so I know the heater will not come on
__________________
cruisin2251le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 02:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruisin2251le View Post
Working on it now power in power out of switch working my way back now question how far back can I go before I hit the thermostat its 46 now so I know the heater will not come on
That I can not answer sorry but just leave your switch on. When the basement drops you should see your amps pick up. I think the whole system is wired in series so trace back to the end of the wire from the switch. If I understand your question.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 07:53 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
cruisin2251le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 15
OK I have power to the heaters we will see if they come on when the temps drop thanks for all the emails
__________________
cruisin2251le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 10:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 137
Just a little insight if you still havent figured out your tank heaters yet.

Each tank (that is equipped) has a "pad" which is 12v (wattage is dependent on tank size) and they all have built in thermostats. They would be wired parallel, so each pad/tank can operate independently (as well, being 12v pads, wiring them in series would require a 24/36/48v/ect feed and they would only function once all tanks were below the thermostat threshold). The thermostat turns on at 44*f and off at 64*f.


This being said, the tank (and its contents) need to drop to 44*f before the unit turns on, if you have any great volume of fluid in the tank, and temperatures are mild(near, or not far below freezing), it may take a long time between cycles of the heater (and like mentioned, if their is heat in the basement it can 'falsify' the thermostat readings and keep the heater from cycling)

IF your unit has 120v heat pads (i dont believe these are standard on any model, but are available from the manufacturer), they are 'live' as soon as they are plugged in, they do not have a thermostat
__________________
'14 XLR 395AMP
'16 Ram 3500 DRW, 6.7 cummins w/aisin trans and 4.10 gears
ykdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 09:22 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by ykdave View Post
Just a little insight if you still havent figured out your tank heaters yet.

Each tank (that is equipped) has a "pad" which is 12v (wattage is dependent on tank size) and they all have built in thermostats. They would be wired parallel, so each pad/tank can operate independently (as well, being 12v pads, wiring them in series would require a 24/36/48v/ect feed and they would only function once all tanks were below the thermostat threshold). The thermostat turns on at 44*f and off at 64*f.


This being said, the tank (and its contents) need to drop to 44*f before the unit turns on, if you have any great volume of fluid in the tank, and temperatures are mild(near, or not far below freezing), it may take a long time between cycles of the heater (and like mentioned, if their is heat in the basement it can 'falsify' the thermostat readings and keep the heater from cycling)

IF your unit has 120v heat pads (i dont believe these are standard on any model, but are available from the manufacturer), they are 'live' as soon as they are plugged in, they do not have a thermostat
You are correct the series I was talking about to the OP is that if you have 3 heaters like mine to follow the hot from the switch to the first pad and follow it to the second and so on in series from first to the 3rd. I meant one circuit that each was not wired independently.....
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
heater, tank

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.