Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2011, 02:03 PM   #1
Member
 
cmhbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 82
Temporary Shore Power

Picked up our Sandpiper 35Loft yesterday, in snow/sleet/freezing drizzle. First time towing any fifth wheel, or anything that big. Yay me, and thank you God for Your help!

At any rate, as we rig out for our fulltime trip over the next two weeks or so, I'm going to want/need power out there. Plus the kids want to sleep out there. The house is for sale, so I don't want to make any huge permanent changes.

I have a spare punchout on my breaker box. Can I have an electrician install a 30 amp breaker there, and run some appropriate cable outside for a temp shore power installation?

Our washer is on a dedicated circuit. Could I, if the washer breaker is at least 30 amp, use the appropriate adapters to my SP cable and run just from that plug when the washer is unplugged?

Could I just attach a regular battery charger to the house battery? I know I'll only get 12v that way, but I really just need lights and heat.

Related question: We have a house-type ceiling fan. Should that (and the Konka TV) be AC only?
__________________

__________________
Bob Mueller | Fulltiming family of 9 since Feb 2011
More About Me
cmhbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 03:16 PM   #2
J. Parham
 
snjparham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 88
The only thing you need full 30 amps for is if you plan to run the A/C. You can plug the shore power cable in to a 15 amp receptacle with appropriate adapter and keep the battery charged and run the heater and other 12v appliances.

In my 5th wheel, the ceiling fan and TV are AC only. Using the SP cable you would be able to watch the TV as well.
__________________

__________________
snjparham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 04:58 PM   #3
Member
 
cmhbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 82
Snjparham, thanks. It's all good now. We had a 30-50 adapter pigtail, as well as a 15-amp plug modifier for the pigtail. Got that all plugged in, and had to use a 15-foot extension to our 30-foot shore power cord, but we're wired. Makes the kids happy; they wanted to sleep outside tonight. They wanted to last night, but I had a minor issue with the propane that I wanted to clear up first.

NB: The extension cords must have a tight connection to transfer power. I had a 1/2 inch or so gap between the male and female plastic bases on the cords, and no power flowing. Make sure those two sections are tightly connected.
__________________
Bob Mueller | Fulltiming family of 9 since Feb 2011
More About Me
cmhbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 05:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 517
Send a message via Skype™ to scubieman
This is what I do, most houses have outside outlets. I have my RV plugged into a existing outdoor outlet that was installed before I bought the house. I just use it for winter storage (to keep batteries charged). You can use any outlet you want. If you happen to plug your RV into a 20 AMP outlet. The worse that will happen is you will trip that breaker when you turn on too many things.

I personally would not hire a electrician to come in and install one breaker for a temp solution.
__________________
2009 Dodge Ram Mega Cab 2500 6.7 cummins
2011 Forest River Cherokee 28BHKS

scubieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.