Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2010, 01:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Touch Audio Weather Alert

I have a new Wolf Pup 16P and it has a Touch Audio, VO-400i, radio/audio unit. This has a weather alert that turns the radio on and to the National Weather Service broadcast channel when an alert sounds. This occurs even when to radio is off (stand-by mode) and I keep finding the radio on after every alert, which runs the battery down faster. It is also a nuisance, because the old type alert sounds with every alert from that NWS office, which covers almost the whole state. The owners manual, very minimal, tells how to activate the Touch Audio weather alert, but not how to turn it off. I can't find a way to shut off the weather alert function. I can't find a website for this radio or any information on line about how it operates. Has anyone had any experience with the Touch Audio weather alert?
__________________

__________________
Larry237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 03:27 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
No, I have a Concertone, but I will be looking out to see if you get an answer.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 12:27 PM   #3
rhg
RHGMass
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Touch Audio weather alert disable

I read this on another forum site, so I cannot validate whether it works or not....
To disable the automatic weather alerts, turn the radio on and select the weather station. Using the remote control press the "Alarm" button to turn off the horn/alarm icon from illuminating on the radio display panel.
__________________
rhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 12:45 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
I turned off the alarm/horn symbol on the display with the alarm button on the remote and the alarm symbol disappeared. I'll have to wait until a weather alert or the test, next Wednesday to see if this keeps it from activating. Thanks for the info.
__________________
Larry237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 10:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
backin15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 390
I wish my Concertone had a weather radio built into it. I think every camper should have one! I can understand your frustration though.
__________________
backin15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 09:15 AM   #6
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Quote:
Originally Posted by backin15 View Post
I wish my Concertone had a weather radio built into it. I think every camper should have one! I can understand your frustration though.
Some Concertone MODELS do, some don't it - depends what the manufacturers chooses to put in.
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 09:18 AM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
My Concertone 700 has a weather band and it says it will switch to it in an emergency; however the unit has to be on for that to happen.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:29 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Weather Alarm, Touch Audio

As previously noted, I turned the Touch Audio on to the weather mode and pushed the alarm button on the remote control and turned off the speaker symbol on the right side of the screen.

Today, there was a test by National Weather Service and the radio did not switch on and air the alarm. I guess the above procedure works. So all I have to do is use the alarm button on the remote control. Too bad they don't mention that in the very limited owners manual. Thanks to all for the info.
__________________

__________________
Larry237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.