Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2011, 10:34 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
try switching the wire from the microwave to a different breaker. may be a bad breaker.
i'm in the process of running a larger wire to my microwave because i changed to a convection/microwave.
another thought is to plug a light or something into the microwave outlet and see if the light works. if it does, try running the microwave (w/cup of water inside) and see if the light continues to burn.

i'm assuming the microwave is plugged in ie didn't get knocked out...
there is also a fuse in the microwave.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 11:11 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrown View Post
What started all of this is when switching the breakers on the microwave would not turn on. Usually electrical is easy for me but this is just blowing my mind hahahaha!
Sometimes I think that we all need a circuit breaker between our eyes that can be reset when required !!! Seriously tho, if you have all the breakers reset to "on" and all the fuses are known good, and then still no power to your microwave then IMHO you have a problem somewhere else. Perhaps the microwave itself Good luck

...VTX-AL
__________________

__________________
VTX Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 12:01 PM   #33
Member
 
frankm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
You have two "mains"; One 30 amps and the other 20 amps

I suspect all the "top" split breakers are off the 30 amp breaker and all the "bottoms" are off the 20 amp breaker.
herk7769, I'm not so sure about this, but then again electricity isn't really my forte. Why would a 30amp panel have two mains if there is a single bus? If you look at the picture closer and count the breakers and labels from the bottom up you find out that the second from the top breaker originally labeled A/C is now a spare and not a second 20amp main. I think.
__________________
Frank & Rita M
2016 Ford F-150 XLT Ecoboost
2017 Rockwood 2703WS
frankm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 12:03 PM   #34
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankm View Post
herk7769, I'm not so sure about this, but then again electricity isn't really my forte. Why would a 30amp panel have two mains if there is a single bus? If you look at the picture closer and count the breakers and labels from the bottom up you find out that the second from the top breaker originally labeled A/C is now a spare and not a second 20amp main. I think.
I did post I was wrong.
Do I need to start a thread to let everyone know?
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 12:07 PM   #35
Member
 
frankm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
I did post I was wrong.
Do I need to start a thread to let everyone know?
Oh no, no, sorry!!!I'm usually one that reads all posts before posting a reply and I really goofed this one! (Ok, I've messed up a couple of times!) My bad!
__________________
Frank & Rita M
2016 Ford F-150 XLT Ecoboost
2017 Rockwood 2703WS
frankm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 12:13 PM   #36
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
It's strange that they used a Tandem 30-20 Breaker as a 30 amp Main and a 20 amp breaker for A/C or anything else. I guess there's no electrical inspections when they build these things. A Regular Residential Main Breaker would have to be a standard size 30 amp single pole breaker, not a tandem breaker. Tandem breakers are no where as near reliable as a standard single pole breaker.
They use Square "D" Homeline brand in the RVs.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 02:14 PM   #37
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankm View Post
Oh no, no, sorry!!!I'm usually one that reads all posts before posting a reply and I really goofed this one! (Ok, I've messed up a couple of times!) My bad!
As I said before, it is availability, a desire to learn, and a reasonably good memory (so far) that keeps me here. I try to research every thread before I post, but I sometimes shoot, then aim. This was such a case.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 02:31 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
onetonford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankm View Post
herk7769, I'm not so sure about this, but then again electricity isn't really my forte. Why would a 30amp panel have two mains if there is a single bus? If you look at the picture closer and count the breakers and labels from the bottom up you find out that the second from the top breaker originally labeled A/C is now a spare and not a second 20amp main. I think.
That is what I said in my post. Ive been a Industrial electrician for almost 20+ years and if you also notticed in the photo that some body put a new double 20 at the bottom and labled it ac in the wrong spot crossed it out and labeled the next one up as ac.
__________________

2001 Ford F-350 DRW 7.3
2011 25 RL Wildcat
former fiver 1976 Fourwinds had for 35 years
onetonford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 04:02 PM   #39
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,158
Wow,

Build a thousand bridges, but am I Pierre the Bridge Builder? No!

But just ...

well you get the drift.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 04:09 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
onetonford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfsoistman View Post
It's strange that they used a Tandem 30-20 Breaker as a 30 amp Main and a 20 amp breaker for A/C or anything else. I guess there's no electrical inspections when they build these things. A Regular Residential Main Breaker would have to be a standard size 30 amp single pole breaker, not a tandem breaker. Tandem breakers are no where as near reliable as a standard single pole breaker.
They use Square "D" Homeline brand in the RVs.
Most of the RV industry uses that style of breakers because of space saving they do have a standard to follow it is called RIVA.
__________________

__________________

2001 Ford F-350 DRW 7.3
2011 25 RL Wildcat
former fiver 1976 Fourwinds had for 35 years
onetonford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.