Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2011, 08:38 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
TV

I have DirecTV HD that I use the HDMI from receiver to TV in the living area for the best picture. My problem is when I hook up an extra TV to the RV outside cable the picture is not very good. What can i do to make the picture better on the other TV.

Thank you in advance for your help.
__________________

__________________
diamondjindustries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 08:43 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamondjindustries View Post
I have DirecTV HD that I use the HDMI from receiver to TV in the living area for the best picture. My problem is when I hook up an extra TV to the RV outside cable the picture is not very good. What can i do to make the picture better on the other TV.

Thank you in advance for your help.
I am confused and unsure how to help you.

When you are using the outside TV are you talking about watching the Direct TV out there or the Roof Antenna? Photos are always helpful in these situations.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 08:52 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
I have a hook up on the outside that is factory installed so that a TV can be used outside. This hookup is a cable port on the side of the RV. Yes I can watch DirecTV or the roof antenna. when watching DirecTV I do not turn on the Antenna booster.
__________________
diamondjindustries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 10:19 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
are u feeding the tv output from the direct tv receiver into the tv/cable jack on ur inside wall plate?
looks like that would work. u may need to put a small amplifier between dtv output and the cable/tv wall plate to overcome the loss going thru a splitter and the coax run length.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 11:49 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks I will check on this
__________________
diamondjindustries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 11:52 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimh View Post
are u feeding the tv output from the direct tv receiver into the tv/cable jack on ur inside wall plate?
looks like that would work. u may need to put a small amplifier between dtv output and the cable/tv wall plate to overcome the loss going thru a splitter and the coax run length.
Not to mention what is going on inside the electronic switch.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 09:28 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 1,904
I think the voltage that is present on the TT's factory installed cable because of the booster/amplifyer is interfering with the output from the sat. receiver. Even though the booster is not on, it is not a true "pass through" cable. If you haven't tried it already, hook up a cable directly from the receiver to the TV you are using outside.

Keep us informed.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"[/I][/B]
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 10:36 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
That is what I thought too.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 07:46 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks I will
__________________
diamondjindustries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 10:32 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
the amplifier is in the antenna. voltage is supplied to the ant from the "wall plate switch". there should be no DC voltage present at the tv jack or the outside cable hookup.
it would depend on how they are making that switch inside the wall plate. he apparently is getting something to feed back thru. in his case, it sounds like a small amp would clear up the outside picture. when i tried back feeding today, i did not have success.
what i did install today (in abt 15 minutes) was an audio/video and ir remote transmitter from the sat receiver. took a little trial and error setting up but it is working fine. the other side of this is a receiver that feeds the signal to the other tv and an ir emitter takes care of the control.
dish network has receivers that have rf over the air outputs that can be received by another tv. uhf remote control is used for control. direct tv may have a similar system available.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.