Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2010, 08:54 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greensburg In
Posts: 785
I am like the others i bet you dont have a digital tv and will need a converter box
__________________

__________________
2008 8296SS Rockwood Signature Ultralite
2002 Silverado 2500HD extended cab
chevy02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 09:41 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
tomjsas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 508
I've found even with a digital TV the addition of a converter box helps strengthen the signal. My water pump used to interfere with the TV prior to adding back in the converter box. Now there is no issue.
__________________

__________________
Tom
Pull-Rite 16K Super 5th
2014 Rockwood Signature Ultra-Lite 8289WS
2011 Chevy 2500HD - DuraMax (Just over 5000 miles now!)
Nights camped in 2014 - 21
tomjsas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 03:21 AM   #13
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by campclanlouisa View Post
I have done both of these and still no signal. ??
I camped in Quantico Va in July 2010 and got 13 over the digital and analog channels.

Search this forum for "Wingman" and "Winegard"; read the posts about how to aim a digital antenna.

go to www.antennaweb.org for where to aim it in your area.

Using a converter box if you have a digital tv seems counter productive.
It will convert digital high definition TV to analog low definition TV that will look crappy on a digital flat screen.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 03:34 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 295
Since you say it's an LCD, I doubt that it's analog, don't think they made analog LCD's. You probably need to change the input on your Tv. There might be an input button on the remote, or sometimes you have to go to the main menu and select what you want- tuner , aux video, etc... Make sure it is set to tuner and then you also have to select if it is antenna or cable. Sometimes they just say "air" or "cable". If you are trying to get them on the batwing, make sure it says "air".
__________________
MightyMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 05:42 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Prince Edward Island
Posts: 39
Have you switched Source to "Air" or are you set to HDMI, Component or some other source?
__________________
Dan Kennedy
Prince Edward Island, Canada
2011 36RE Cedar Creek
2011 6.7 Ford 1 Ton Dually
http://snowyowl.smugmug.com/
Snowyowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 09:21 AM   #16
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyMike View Post
Since you say it's an LCD, I doubt that it's analog, don't think they made analog LCD's. You probably need to change the input on your Tv. There might be an input button on the remote, or sometimes you have to go to the main menu and select what you want- tuner , aux video, etc... Make sure it is set to tuner and then you also have to select if it is antenna or cable. Sometimes they just say "air" or "cable". If you are trying to get them on the batwing, make sure it says "air".
Actually, depending on the year of manufacture and size, Flat screen TVs may only be "digital ready" and not have integral digital tuners. Digital ready TVs need the converter box to receive digital over the air content.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 09:03 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
if u hook up to an external cabel, do u get anything?
in my case, i can hook up cabel which tells me all is well from that end. when i go on antenna, it is intermittant. still haven't found out where.

you may want to pull that little amp out of the wall and see if all the connections are tight. i've read on some where these connections were either loose or not connected.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:24 PM   #18
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
You may want to try a jumper coaxial cable directly from the antennae to the input at the booster plate. If that works, then you know that some connection between there and the antennae is bad. I traced my signal problem to the the connection that comes through the roof......both ends of the coaxial cable had corroded completely away.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 04:07 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
on mine, i've replaced the one going thru the roof. i still haven't followed my own advice and checked the connectors to the distributor behind the wall.
i've been meaning to do some serious trouble shooting sense 2002. if i could explain to my wife what i'm looking for, i would shake the wires and have her tell me what is happening. we don't communicate very well on these things. it would be better if she shook the wires but she can't get up there.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.