Old 09-19-2011, 06:26 AM   #1

Question warranty work

Does anyone know if you have to go directly through your purchasing dealer to coordinate and approve warranty work? In my case, I purchased from RV Wholesalers, so warranty work on my travel trailer will be done locally by someone in their network.
Thank you for the feedback!

greti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:27 AM   #2

You can go through any authorized dealer. But they might not & don't have to do it. I know the dealer I went through has a sign saying they won't work on any rig not bought from them! You can't deal with the factory direct. The only way is to take it right to the factory.

Old 09-19-2011, 09:29 AM   #3

Interesting. I worked in the auto industry for several years (sales and management) and there was a myth among many buyers that they had to bring the vehicle back to the dealer where it was bought for warranty service. I once had a guy that planned his work around vacations when he was visiting back in the area (had moved to another state after buying).

In the auto industry it is a MYTH. Any dealer that carries the franchise name is legally obligated to provide warranty service on the makes and models they sell/service.

I would think similar laws as to warranty service would apply to the RV industry as well, but I could obviously be wrong.

Of course with campers you are only talking about the first year of ownership (maybe 2 if you opted for the 2nd year of manufacturer warranty).

Would really piss me off to be on the road and have a manufacturer defect covered by warranty and not be able to have it covered at another dealer.

3rd Party extended warranties are a completely different story - those are like insurance - gotta find a participating provider in the RV Doctor Directory
Reese 66065 WDH, Curt WDH Shank #17120
Prodigy P2 Brake Controller, Mopar 7-pin Harness
B&M Transmission Cooler (#70268)
Jeep4Two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 10:38 AM   #4